From the record
One of 47 National Register listings published here for Douglas County · listed in 1984 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.
One of 47 National Register listings published here for Douglas County · listed in 1984 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 137 fires within 5 miles of Weaver-Worthington Farmstead between 1992 and 2020, burning about 18,215 acres in total. 47 started naturally. 12 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Natural | 47 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 22 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 20 |
| Debris and open burning | 15 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 12 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 6 |
| Smoking | 5 |
| Fireworks | 4 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 4 |
| Other causes | 1 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Douglas Forest Protective Association | DAYS CREEK CUTOFF # 2 |
| 9 September 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Douglas Forest Protective Association | DAYS CREEK CUTOFF # 3 |
| 9 September 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Douglas Forest Protective Association | DAYS CREEK CUTOFF # 1 |
| 8 September 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Douglas Forest Protective Association | DIVISION STREET #2 |
| 7 September 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.8 acres | Douglas Forest Protective Association | DIVISION STREET #1 |
| 6 September 2019 | Natural | under an acre | Oregon Department of Forestry Salem Headquarters | STINGER GULCH |
| 6 September 2019 | Natural | under an acre | Oregon Department of Forestry Salem Headquarters | SOUTH MYRTLE |
| 6 September 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Roseburg District | FOREST ROAD |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 27 workings within 5 miles of Weaver-Worthington Farmstead: 15 past producers, 5 producers, 4 occurrences, 2 unknowns. 5 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Mercury, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quarry | Stone | Past Producer | ||
| Ben Hur | Gold | Occurrence | ||
| Ben Hur | Gold | Prospect | ||
| Fristoe | Iron | Past Producer | ||
| Fristoe | Iron | Past Producer | ||
| Rainy Day | Chromium | Past Producer | Chromite | |
| Rainy Day Mine | Chromium | Past Producer | ||
| Koko Lane Shale Pit | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Koko Lane Shale Pit | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Unnamed Pit | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Canyonville Methodist Church | 4.6 miles | 1984 |
![]() | Rice Brothers and Adams Building | 5.1 miles | 1983 |
![]() | Will Q. Brown House and Wash House | 7.7 miles | 1987 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 84002996 in Record Group 79. |
| Douglas County | All 47 listed properties in this county. |