BlockBefore

Store Gulch Guard Station No. 1020

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1986.

From the record

One of 69 National Register listings published here for Josephine County · listed in 1986 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Illinois Valley Rd., Siskiyou National Forest, Cave Junction, 97538
  • When was it listed? April 1986
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Depression-Era Buildings Oregon and Washington TR
  • Census division. Wilderville
  • National Register reference number. 86000838 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

63 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 63 fires within 5 miles of Store Gulch Guard Station No. 1020 between 1992 and 2020, burning about 44 acres in total. 23 started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Natural23
Recreation and ceremony22
Missing data/not specified/undetermined7
Arson/incendiarism4
Equipment and vehicle use3
Smoking2
Debris and open burning1
Fireworks1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 1994Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreRogue River-Siskiyou National Forestnot named
6 September 2020Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreRogue River-Siskiyou National ForestPOCKET
28 September 2013Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreRogue River-Siskiyou National ForestBIG GULP
2 September 2014Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreRogue River-Siskiyou National ForestDEER CREEK
2 September 1992Naturalunder an acreRogue River-Siskiyou National Forestnot named
16 September 2019Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreRogue River-Siskiyou National ForestKERBY FLAT
15 September 2003Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreRogue River-Siskiyou National ForestWHESTON BUTTE
12 September 1997Natural4.0 acresRogue River-Siskiyou National ForestRIVER ROAD

Every fire recorded in Josephine County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 252 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 252 workings within 5 miles of Store Gulch Guard Station No. 1020: 84 past producers, 81 occurrences, 52 prospects, 25 producers. 25 still produce. What was taken out: Chromium, Gold, Copper, Gold, Silver. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Bluff ProspectIron, Copper, Nickel, CobaltOccurrenceMetamorphic
Bluff ProspectIron, Nickel, Copper, CobaltOccurrence
CalumetGold, Copper, Silver, LeadProducerPyrite, Pyrrhotite
Calumet MineGold, Copper, ChromiumPast Producer
CrownChromium, CopperPast ProducerChalcopyrite, Chromite, Malachite
Deep Gorge ChromiteChromium, Platinum, Palladium, Rhodium, Iridium, RutheniumPast Producer1915
Deep Gorge ChromiteChromium, Palladium, Platinum, RhodiumPast Producer
Eureka MineGold, Silver, TelluriumProducerPyrite
Eureka MineGold, Tellurium, SilverPast Producer
Fall Creek CopperCopper, Gold, Silver, Zinc, NickelPast ProducerChalcopyrite, Malachite, Pyrrhotite

Every working recorded in Josephine County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 86000838 in Record Group 79.
Josephine CountyAll 69 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.