BlockBefore
Photograph of Elson-Magnolia Flour Mill
Photograph by Sanfranman59, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Elson-Magnolia Flour Mill

Built in 1834 (Italianate architecture). Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2000. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1912.

From the record

One of 95 National Register listings published here for Stark County · listed in 2000 · category: District · built in 1834, Italianate architecture.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Listed as. Elson--Magnolia Flour Mill - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 261 N. Main St., Magnolia
  • When was it listed? July 2000
  • Category. district
  • When was it built? 1834
  • Architectural style. Italianate architecture
  • National Register reference number. 00000800 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1912 to 1994

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 82 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Elson-Magnolia Flour Mill, surveyed 1994
Topographic sheet covering Elson-Magnolia Flour Mill, surveyed 1912

Fires near this property

29 since 2003

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 29 fires within 5 miles of Elson-Magnolia Flour Mill between 2003 and 2020, burning about 57 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning16
Missing data/not specified/undetermined12
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 August 2016Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources5328
5 August 2017Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources8647
26 July 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.5 acresOhio Department of Natural Resources15797
26 June 2016Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresOhio Department of Natural Resources5065
2 May 2015Debris and open burning15 acresOhio Department of Natural Resources1105
6 April 2014Debris and open burning1.0 acresOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
6 April 2013Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
5 April 2005Debris and open burning4.4 acresOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Stark County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 10 workings within 5 miles of Elson-Magnolia Flour Mill: 6 past producers, 2 producers, 2 plants. 4 still produce. What was taken out: Clay, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay, Coal. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
D and M PitClay, CoalPast Producer
Sandyville PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
D & M Coal Clay PitClayProducer
D and M Clay and Shale PitClayPast ProducerSedimentary
Mineral City PlantClayPast ProducerSedimentary
Mineral City PlantClayPlant
Romaay PitsClayPast ProducerSedimentary
Romany Plant & PitsClayPlant
Zito PitClayPast ProducerSedimentary
Zito PitClayPast Producer

Every working recorded in Stark County

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Seven Ranges Terminus1.0 miles1976
Town Pump of East Sparta, The3.0 miles2009

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 00000800 in Record Group 79.
Stark CountyAll 95 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.