From the record
One of 343 National Register listings published here for Franklin County · listed in 2025 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2025. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1925.
One of 343 National Register listings published here for Franklin County · listed in 2025 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 59 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 2 fires within 5 miles of Mt. Vernon Avenue Historic District between 2007 and 2011, burning under an acre in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1 |
| Debris and open burning | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 26 October 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 10 October 2007 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Mt. Vernon Avenue Historic District: 1 past producer, 1 plant. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Zinc, Sulfur, Sulfuric Acid. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| (Facility) Asarco Columbus Smelter | Zinc, Sulfur, Sulfuric Acid | Plant | ||
| Columbus No. 210 Plant and Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary |
10 papers published in this town, digitised by the Library of Congress and free to read. Every page is searchable, so a name or a street can be looked for directly in what the town printed about itself at the time.
| Newspaper | Published |
|---|---|
| Columbus Standard | 1898 to 1901 |
| The Catholic Times | 1951 to Current |
| The Free American | 1887 to 18?? |
| Daily Ohio Statesman | 1855 to 1870 |
| Der Westbote | 1843 to 1871 |
| Der Westbote | 1872 to 1918 |
| Wochenblatt Des Westboten | 1871 to 1872 |
| Eastern Review | 1958 to 1964 |
| West Side News | 1946 to 1960 |
| West Side News and Hilltop Record | 1960 to 1964 |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Pythian Temple and James Pythian Theater | 0.2 miles | 1983 |
| Felton School | 0.3 miles | 1984 | |
![]() | St. Clair Hospital | 0.3 miles | 2001 |
![]() | Shiloh Baptist Church | 0.4 miles | 2004 |
![]() | Prentiss-Tulford House | 0.5 miles | 1986 |
| Plaza Hotel | 0.5 miles | 1984 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100011985 in Record Group 79. |
| Franklin County | All 343 listed properties in this county. |