BlockBefore
Photograph of Martin House and Farm
Photograph by Tim Pierce, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Martin House and Farm

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978. 18 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1887.

From the record

One of 389 National Register listings published here for Bristol County · listed in 1978 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • Address. 22 Stoney Hill Rd., North Swansea
  • When was it listed? October 1978
  • Category. building
  • National Register reference number. 78000437 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

33 since 2006

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 33 fires within 5 miles of Martin House and Farm between 2006 and 2020, burning about 40 acres in total. None started naturally. 7 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined17
Arson/incendiarism7
Debris and open burning5
Misuse of fire by a minor3
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
3 September 2007Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresRhode Island Division of Forest Environmentnot named
21 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreRhode Island Division of Forest Environmentnot named
20 September 2015Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
16 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
28 August 2016Debris and open burningunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
8 July 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
3 July 2017Debris and open burningunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
3 July 2016Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreRhode Island Division of Forest Environmentnot named

Every fire recorded in Bristol County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Martin House and Farm: 1 plant, 1 past producer, 1 producer. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
County Street Mine and MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
General Road Trucking CorpSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Swansea PlantSand and Gravel, ConstructionPlant

Every working recorded in Bristol County

Maps showing this location

18 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Luther House0.5 miles1990
Short's Tavern0.5 miles1990
First Baptist Church and Society0.7 miles1990
William P. Mason House0.9 miles1990
Norton House0.9 miles1990
Kingsley House1.0 miles1983

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 78000437 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Bristol CountyAll 389 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.