From the record
One of 342 National Register listings published here for Norfolk County · listed in 1979 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979. 17 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1893.
One of 342 National Register listings published here for Norfolk County · listed in 1979 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 31 fires within 5 miles of Brookline Village Commercial District between 2003 and 2020, burning about 329 acres in total. None started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 15 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 8 |
| Smoking | 4 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 2 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
| Debris and open burning | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 September 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 23 September 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 23 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 2 September 2018 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | BROOKLINE |
| 2 September 2017 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | QUINCY |
| 6 August 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | MILTON |
| 28 August 2016 | Smoking | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | WEYMOUTH |
| 26 August 2017 | Smoking | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | BROOKLINE |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 11 workings within 5 miles of Brookline Village Commercial District: 8 plants, 2 past producers, 1 unknown. 8 still produce. What was taken out: Iron, Lead, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Tantalum. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| C. J. Mabardy | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Nrc Inc--Newton, Ma. | Tantalum, Niobium (Columbium) | Plant | ||
| Us Gypsum Co--Boston | Gypsum-Anhydrite | Past Producer | ||
| West Roxbury Crushed Stone Operatio | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Unknown | ||
| Whittemore Prdts Inc--Boston | Perlite | Plant | ||
| (Facility) Cambridge Smelter Co | Lead | Plant | ||
| General Metals & Smelting--Boston | Lead | Plant | ||
| Industrial Serv. Centers--Cambridge | Iron | Plant | ||
| Somerville Smelting Co. | Lead | Plant | ||
| Us Steel Supply Div--Boston | Iron | Plant |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Dr. Tappan Eustis Francis House | under 500 feet | 1985 |
![]() | Ginery Twitchell House | under 500 feet | 1985 |
![]() | White Place Historic District | under 500 feet | 1985 |
![]() | Building at 30-34 Station Street | 0.1 miles | 1985 |
![]() | House at 12 Linden Street | 0.1 miles | 1985 |
![]() | House at 9 Linden Street | 0.1 miles | 1985 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 79000364 in Record Group 79. |
| Norfolk County | All 342 listed properties in this county. |