From the record
One of 6 National Register listings published here for Morgan County · listed in 1979 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1910.
One of 6 National Register listings published here for Morgan County · listed in 1979 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 84 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 6 fires within 5 miles of McConnelsville Historic District between 2012 and 2018, burning about 14 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 3 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 22 March 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 21 March 2014 | Debris and open burning | 4.5 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 21 March 2014 | Debris and open burning | 2.5 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 15 March 2018 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 11306 |
| 14 March 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 25 October 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6.0 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 7 workings within 5 miles of McConnelsville Historic District: 3 past producers, 3 producers, 1 plant. 4 still produce. What was taken out: Limestone, General, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Morgan County Hwy Dept. | Stone | Producer | ||
| D-K Pit | Limestone, General | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| D-K Pit | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Industrial Stone Quarry | Limestone, General | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Industrial Stone Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Joe Lucas Dredge | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Plant | ||
| O. V. Crane No. 1 & Ohio | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer |
2 papers published in this town, digitised by the Library of Congress and free to read. Every page is searchable, so a name or a street can be looked for directly in what the town printed about itself at the time.
| Newspaper | Published |
|---|---|
| South-Eastern Independent | 1871 |
| Morgan County Democrat | 1886 to 1943 |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Helmick Mill Covered Bridge | 6.8 miles | 1999 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 79001906 in Record Group 79. |
| Morgan County | All 6 listed properties in this county. |