BlockBefore
Photograph of South Washington Street Historic District
Photograph by User:Magicpiano, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

South Washington Street Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1995. 18 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1887.

From the record

One of 389 National Register listings published here for Bristol County · listed in 1995 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

Fires near this property

64 since 2008

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 64 fires within 5 miles of South Washington Street Historic District between 2008 and 2020, burning about 60 acres in total. None started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Recreation and ceremony24
Missing data/not specified/undetermined19
Debris and open burning7
Smoking6
Arson/incendiarism4
Misuse of fire by a minor3
Equipment and vehicle use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
3 September 2016Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire ControlFOXBORO
27 September 2015Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire ControlPLAINVILLE
27 September 2015Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire ControlPLAINVILLE
26 September 2015Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire ControlPLAINVILLE
25 September 2015Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire ControlPLAINVILLE
23 September 2015Recreation and ceremony2.0 acresRhode Island Division of Forest Environmentnot named
23 September 2015Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire ControlPLAINVILLE
22 September 2015Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire ControlPLAINVILLE

Every fire recorded in Bristol County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 22 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 22 workings within 5 miles of South Washington Street Historic District: 14 past producers, 7 producers, 1 prospect. 7 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay, Manganese, Granite. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Glines & Rhodes Refin.--PlainvilleGold, PGE, SilverPast Producer
Masslite PitClay, StoneProducer
PlainvilleBloating MaterialProducerSedimentary
Simeone Stone CorporationGranitePast ProducerGranite
Sneech Pond ProspectManganeseProspect
Wrentham QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
MassliteClayPast ProducerSedimentary
Plainville Clay PitClayPast Producer
Adamsdale MineSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Boro Sand and Stone IncSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary

Every working recorded in Bristol County

Maps showing this location

18 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 95001173 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Bristol CountyAll 389 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.