BlockBefore
Photograph of Glen Echo
Photograph by Salvatione at en.wikipedia, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Glen Echo Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1997. 8 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1902.

From the record

One of 343 National Register listings published here for Franklin County · listed in 1997 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

Then and now

1902 to 1995

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 93 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Glen Echo Historic District, surveyed 1995
Topographic sheet covering Glen Echo Historic District, surveyed 1902

Fires near this property

2 since 2007

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 2 fires within 5 miles of Glen Echo Historic District between 2007 and 2011, burning under an acre in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1
Debris and open burning1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
26 October 2011Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
10 October 2007Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Franklin County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Glen Echo Historic District: 1 plant, 1 past producer, 1 producer. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Calcium, Zinc, Sulfur, Sulfuric Acid. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
(Facility) Asarco Columbus SmelterZinc, Sulfur, Sulfuric AcidPlant
Columbus QuarryCalciumPast ProducerCalcite
Columbus QuarryCalciumProducer

Every working recorded in Franklin County

Newspapers printed here

10 papers

10 papers published in this town, digitised by the Library of Congress and free to read. Every page is searchable, so a name or a street can be looked for directly in what the town printed about itself at the time.

NewspaperPublished
Columbus Standard1898 to 1901
The Catholic Times1951 to Current
The Free American1887 to 18??
Daily Ohio Statesman1855 to 1870
Der Westbote1843 to 1871
Der Westbote1872 to 1918
Wochenblatt Des Westboten1871 to 1872
Eastern Review1958 to 1964
West Side News1946 to 1960
West Side News and Hilltop Record1960 to 1964

Maps showing this location

8 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Gilbert H. Hamilton House0.3 miles1992
North High School0.5 miles1987
North Columbus Commercial Historic District0.7 miles2010
Open Air School0.8 miles2019
Iuka Ravine Historic District0.8 miles1986
Truman and Sylvia Bull Coe House1.0 miles2006

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 97001241 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Franklin CountyAll 343 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.