From the record
One of 16 National Register listings published here for Union County · listed in 2004 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2004.
One of 16 National Register listings published here for Union County · listed in 2004 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 28 fires within 5 miles of Hultgren Farm between 1998 and 2020, burning about 252 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 13 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12 |
| Smoking | 1 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 1 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 24 September 1999 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Alcester Volunteer Fire Department | LEAFSTEAD |
| 21 August 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | DUNHAM FIRE |
| 20 July 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | BIG SPRINGS DITCH 2 |
| 20 July 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | BIG SPRINGS DITCH |
| 2 July 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.0 acres | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | 407 AND 247 |
| 2 July 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | TREIBER FIRE |
| 2 May 2000 | Debris and open burning | 4.0 acres | Alcester Volunteer Fire Department | ART S. |
| 4 April 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 acres | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | ROMMEREIM PASTURE |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 5 workings within 5 miles of Hultgren Farm: 4 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chatsworth Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Sioux-Shoemaker Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| W Strobehn | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Big Springs, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 1994: 1 tornado. The reports record 1 injury. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 1994 | Tornado (F0) | Big Springs | 1 hurt, $50,000 | The tornado destroyed a mobile home and damaged some trees and vehicles. |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | United Brethren Church | 4.3 miles | 2001 |
![]() | Baker House | 4.5 miles | 1979 |
![]() | Swanson House | 5.0 miles | 2006 |
![]() | Nora Store | 5.3 miles | 2007 |
![]() | Star School District 61 | 6.9 miles | 2008 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 03001536 in Record Group 79. |
| Union County | All 16 listed properties in this county. |