From the record
One of 27 National Register listings published here for Lincoln County · listed in 1987 · category: Building · built in 1927.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Built in 1927. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1987.
One of 27 National Register listings published here for Lincoln County · listed in 1987 · category: Building · built in 1927.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 132 fires within 5 miles of Penmarch Place between 1999 and 2020, burning about 732 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 73 |
| Debris and open burning | 33 |
| Fireworks | 6 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 5 |
| Smoking | 4 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 3 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 3 |
| Natural | 2 |
| Other causes | 1 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2013 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Lincoln County | LN13009 |
| 19 September 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 160 acres | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | CORN FIELD FIRE |
| 16 September 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 acres | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | not named |
| 15 September 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | HAY BAIL |
| 4 August 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | CLUBHOUSE |
| 4 August 1999 | Smoking | under an acre | Alcester Volunteer Fire Department | LEE Z. |
| 25 August 1999 | Misuse of fire by a minor | under an acre | Sioux Falls Fire Department | 1605 S. SILVER CREEK |
| 2 August 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 11 workings within 5 miles of Penmarch Place: 5 producers, 4 unknowns, 2 past producers. 5 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Concrete Materials Co Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Quartzite Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Unknown | ||
| Quartzite Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Unknown | ||
| Wisconsin Granite Co. | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Beckman Sand and Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Bill Gage Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Eagle Sand and Gravel Co. | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Friessen Sand and Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Friessens West Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Nelson Sand Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hansen-Hagedorn Barn | 6.2 miles | 2013 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 87000220 in Record Group 79. |
| Lincoln County | All 27 listed properties in this county. |