Karon, Texas
11 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1920 and the latest in 1985. It stands in the Three Rivers census division. It lies in ZIP code area 78071. The Survey maps it on the Oakville quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
8 surveys from 11 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1920 USGS Mikeska quadrangle1:125000
- 1927 USGS Oakville quadrangle1:62500, 2 printings
- 1953 USGS Crystal City quadrangle1:250000
- 1955 USGS Crystal City quadrangle1:250000
- 1961 USGS Crystal City quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Oakville quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1968 USGS Crystal City quadrangle1:250000
- 1985 USGS George West quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
29 since 2006Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 29 fires within 5 miles of Karon between 2006 and 2020, burning about 342 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 13 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 8 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 5 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 3 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 27 September 2019 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Texas A & M Forest Service | TRVFD2019143 |
| 6 August 2019 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 16 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | SERENITY |
| 6 August 2019 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | under an acre | Texas A & M Forest Service | TRVFD2019103 |
| 3 August 2019 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Texas A & M Forest Service | TRVFD2019100 |
| 18 August 2019 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Texas A & M Forest Service | TRVFD2019113 |
| 15 August 2019 | Equipment and vehicle use | 25 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | TRVFD2019111 |
| 13 August 2018 | Equipment and vehicle use | 5.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | TRVFD201893 |
| 4 July 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Texas A & M Forest Service | TRVFD201862 |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
9 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Karon: 6 past producers, 3 producers. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Uranium, Selenium, Molybdenum, Molybdenum, Selenium. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kopplin Mine | Uranium, Molybdenum, Selenium | Past Producer | Stratabound | |
| Zamzow Mine (IEC) | Uranium, Selenium, Molybdenum | Past Producer | Stratabound | |
| Felder Uranium Operation | Uranium | Producer | ||
| Kopplin Pit | Uranium | Past Producer | ||
| Lamprecht Mine | Uranium | Past Producer | Stratabound | |
| Marrs-Mclean Pit No 1 | Uranium | Past Producer | ||
| Smith Uranium Pit | Uranium | Past Producer | ||
| Sulfer Creek Operation | Uranium | Producer | ||
| Zamzow Leaching Plant (Facility) | Uranium | Producer |
Storms near this place
2 since 2010Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Karon in 2 storm reports between 2010 and 2015: 2 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2015 | Flash Flood | Karon | - | Flooding caused portions of Farm to Market Road 1203 to be closed. |
| April 2010 | Flash Flood | Karon | - | FM 1596 closed between CR 311 and 332 due to flash flooding of Gamble Gully Creek. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ray Point | 5.2 miles | 9 | |
| Oakville | 5.7 miles | 11 | |
| La Para | 8.1 miles | 9 | |
| Three Rivers | 9.6 miles | 11 | |
| Ike | 10.1 miles | 11 | |
| George West | 11.8 miles | 12 | |
| River Creek Acres | 12.7 miles | 12 | |
| Mikeska | 13.6 miles | 12 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 1378513. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.







