From the record
One of 13 National Register listings published here for Denton County · listed in 2007 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2007.
One of 13 National Register listings published here for Denton County · listed in 2007 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 31 fires within 5 miles of Pilot Point Commercial Historic District between 2006 and 2018, burning about 351 acres in total. None started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Equipment and vehicle use | 10 |
| Debris and open burning | 9 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 4 |
| Smoking | 1 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 August 2008 | Equipment and vehicle use | 40 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | not named |
| 30 August 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Texas A & M Forest Service | MULLINS |
| 27 August 2009 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | 1600 HARPOLE RD |
| 2 August 2006 | Smoking | 3.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | not named |
| 18 August 2013 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | PILOT POINT ASSIST |
| 11 August 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 6.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | CANTINA LODGE- 185 |
| 10 August 2009 | Debris and open burning | 8.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | BLANKS RD |
| 10 August 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Pilot Point, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 1994: 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 1994 | Thunderstorm Wind | Pilot Point | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jones Farm | 5.0 miles | 1994 | |
| Johnson Farm | 5.2 miles | 1994 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 07000893 in Record Group 79. |
| Denton County | All 13 listed properties in this county. |