From the record
One of 14 National Register listings published here for Matagorda County · listed in 2025 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2025.
One of 14 National Register listings published here for Matagorda County · listed in 2025 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 32 fires within 5 miles of Palacios Colored School between 2017 and 2018, burning about 347 acres in total. 1 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 22 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
| Natural | 1 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2017 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | CR 305 FIRE |
| 7 September 2017 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | 12TH GRASS FIRE |
| 6 September 2017 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Texas A & M Forest Service | MOORE GRASS FIRE |
| 3 September 2017 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | E.BAYSHORE & CR 305 |
| 3 September 2017 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | CR 305 & E. BAYSHORE |
| 17 September 2017 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | NEWSOME FIRE |
| 10 September 2017 | Debris and open burning | 5.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | PERRYMAN FIRE |
| 7 August 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Texas A & M Forest Service | PRECINCT 3 BRUSH FIRE |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Palacios, the town this property stands in, in 8 storm reports between 1996 and 2021: 3 thunderstorm wind, 2 flash flood, 1 funnel cloud, 1 tornado. The reports record 1 injury. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 2002 | Thunderstorm Wind | Palacios | 1 hurt, $150,000 | TV tower fell on trailor. |
| July 2003 | Tornado (F1) | Palacios | $150,000 | Tornado in the eye wall of Hurricane Claudette damaged a couple buildings at the Baptist Youth Camp in Palacios. |
| August 2002 | Thunderstorm Wind | Palacios | $10,000 | Power lines down in Palacios. |
| November 2004 | Flash Flood | Palacios | $4,000 | Flooding in Palacios. |
| May 2021 | Flash Flood | Palacios | - | SH 35 Business in Palacios was impassable due to floodwaters and was closed. |
| November 2004 | Hail | Palacios | - | no account filed |
| May 2001 | Funnel Cloud | Palacios | - | no account filed |
| September 1996 | Thunderstorm Wind | Palacios | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | R.J. Hill Building | 0.6 miles | 2009 |
![]() | Luther Hotel | 0.6 miles | 2010 |
![]() | Price-Farwell House | 0.6 miles | 2009 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100011777 in Record Group 79. |
| Matagorda County | All 14 listed properties in this county. |