BlockBefore
Photograph of Highland Park Village
Photograph by Drumguy8800 at English Wikipedia, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Highland Park Shopping Village

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1997.

From the record

“Highland Park Village is an upscale shopping plaza located at the southwest corner of Mockingbird Lane and Preston Road in Highland Park, Texas and was the first self-contained shopping center in America. The Highland Park Village was declared a National Historic Landmark in 2000.”

Wikipedia article Highland Park Village, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 159 National Register listings published here for Dallas County · listed in 1997 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. Jct. of Preston Rd. and Mockingbird Ln., Highpark, 75205
  • When was it listed? November 1997
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Northeast Dallas
  • Architectural style. Mission Revival architecture
  • National Register reference number. 97001393 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

260 since 2014

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 260 fires within 5 miles of Highland Park Shopping Village between 2014 and 2017, burning about 56 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined218
Equipment and vehicle use24
Recreation and ceremony5
Smoking5
Misuse of fire by a minor3
Debris and open burning2
Natural1
Arson/incendiarism1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2016Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreTexas A & M Forest Service3860 WALNUT HILL
9 September 2015Naturalunder an acreTexas A & M Forest ServiceTHICKET
7 September 2015Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreTexas A & M Forest ServiceWALL
7 September 2015Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreTexas A & M Forest ServiceMOCKINGBIRD
6 September 2015Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreTexas A & M Forest ServiceHAWKINS
6 September 2015Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreTexas A & M Forest ServiceBROOK
4 September 2015Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreTexas A & M Forest ServiceROSS
30 September 2016Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreTexas A & M Forest ServiceN. STEMMONS SERV SB

Every fire recorded in Dallas County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Greenway Parks Historic District1.0 miles2008
Virginia Hall1.2 miles1980
Mark and Maybelle Lemmon House1.2 miles2006
Snider Hall1.2 miles1980
McFarlin Memorial Auditorium1.3 miles1980
Perkins Hall of Administration1.3 miles1980

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 97001393 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Dallas CountyAll 159 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.