BlockBefore

Kanosh Indian Village, Utah

16 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1885 and the latest in 2001. It stands in the Fillmore census division. It lies in ZIP code area 84637. It lies near Brush Hollow Canyon. The Survey maps it on the Kanosh quadrangle.

Kanosh Indian Village within Millard County

Topographic sheets covering this place

7 surveys from 16 printed sheets

Matched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.

Fires near this place

133 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 133 fires within 5 miles of Kanosh Indian Village between 1992 and 2020, burning about 7,728 acres in total. 95 started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Natural95
Missing data/not specified/undetermined14
Power generation/transmission/distribution12
Equipment and vehicle use5
Debris and open burning3
Recreation and ceremony2
Arson/incendiarism1
Fireworks1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 2019Naturalunder an acreFishlake National ForestRIDGELINE
8 September 2019Natural4,231 acresRichfield Field OfficeMEADOW CREEK
8 September 2017Naturalunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsWEST
7 September 2017Naturalunder an acreFishlake National ForestMOUTH
6 September 2012Naturalunder an acreFishlake National ForestSHAREE
3 September 2019Naturalunder an acreFishlake National ForestGHOST
28 September 2014Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsBRAKE
28 September 2004Missing data/not specified/undetermined78 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State Landsnot named

Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:

Every fire recorded in Millard County

Mines and quarries near this place

10 of 19 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 19 workings within 5 miles of Kanosh Indian Village: 18 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Volcanic Materials. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Black Rock VolcanoVolcanic MaterialsProducerCinders
Utah Dept. of Highways Cinder Pit No 14038Volcanic MaterialsPast ProducerBasalt, Cinders, Pumice
Utah Dept. of Highways Cinder Pit No. 14037Volcanic MaterialsPast ProducerBasalt, Cinders, Pumice
Kanosh Gravel Pit No. 16Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerQuartzite
Kanosh Gravel Pit No. 19Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerUnconsolidated Sediments
Kanosh Gravel Pit No.16Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Kanosh Gravel Pit No.19Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Kanosh Sw Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerUnconsolidated Sediments
Kanosh Sw Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Meadow Borrow Pit No.23Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Millard County

Nearest settlements

The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.

Map PlaceDistance Sheets
Kanosh2.2 miles16
Hatton3.1 miles16
Meadow4.6 miles15
Sixmile Point7.0 miles16
Eightmile Point8.9 miles16
Flowell11.1 miles15
Fillmore11.1 miles17
Holden20.5 miles16

Elsewhere

Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.

Wikidata item Q122540642The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0).

Provenance

This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 1442280. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.

Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.