Brinn, Alabama
11 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1936 and the latest in 1980. It stands in the Hamilton census division. It lies in ZIP code area 35570. It stands on Cook Branch. The Survey maps it on the Hamilton NE quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
7 surveys from 11 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1936 USGS South Of Hackleburg quadrangle1:24000
- 1956 USGS Gadsden quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1958 USGS Gadsden quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Gadsden quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1963 USGS Gadsden quadrangle1:250000
- 1967 USGS Hamilton NE quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1980 USGS Haleyville quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
89 since 1994Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 89 fires within 5 miles of Brinn between 1994 and 2020, burning about 1,406 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 53 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 53 |
| Debris and open burning | 17 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 4 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
| Other causes | 1 |
| Natural | 1 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2002 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 29 September 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | 25 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 24 September 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 22 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 25 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 21 September 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | 20200921-3 |
| 18 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | 20190918-9 |
| 17 September 1999 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 17 September 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
3 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Brinn: 2 producers, 1 past producer. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Clay, Kaolin. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hackleburg Kaolin Ala. | Kaolin | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Chalk Bluff Mine | Clay | Producer | ||
| Hackleburg Pits | Clay | Producer |
Storms near this place
1 since 2015Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Brinn in 1 storm report in 2015: 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2015 | Thunderstorm Wind | Brinn | - | Barn damaged on County Road 108 Near Highway 253. Several trees also uprooted along Highway 253. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pearces Mills | 3.8 miles | 11 | |
| Whitehouse | 4.9 miles | 12 | |
| Fairview | 5.8 miles | 14 | |
| Tessner | 5.9 miles | 14 | |
| Piney Grove | 6.4 miles | 12 | |
| Lumbull | 6.9 miles | 14 | |
| Thornhill | 7.1 miles | 12 | |
| Goddard | 7.4 miles | 12 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 137941. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.






