Burntout, Alabama
11 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1936 and the latest in 1984. It stands in the Red Bay census division. It lies in ZIP code area 35593. It stands on Johnson Branch. The Survey maps it on the Halltown quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
7 surveys from 11 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1936 USGS Halltown quadrangle1:24000
- 1950 USGS Halltown quadrangle1:24000
- 1951 USGS Halltown quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1956 USGS Tupelo quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1958 USGS Tupelo quadrangle1:250000
- 1984 USGS Tupelo quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1984 USGS Tupelo quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
62 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 62 fires within 5 miles of Burntout between 1997 and 2017, burning about 1,520 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 41 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 41 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 9 |
| Debris and open burning | 8 |
| Natural | 2 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 September 2000 | Natural | 30 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 5 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 8.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 22 September 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 31 August 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 30 August 1999 | Equipment and vehicle use | 3.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 21 August 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 20 August 2008 | Arson/incendiarism | 19 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | COUNTY ROAD 37, AL |
| 2 August 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 3.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
8 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 8 workings within 5 miles of Burntout: 5 unknowns, 2 occurrences, 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Iron, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sand and Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unnamed | Iron | Unknown | ||
| Unnamed | Iron | Unknown | ||
| Unnamed | Iron | Unknown | ||
| Unnamed | Iron | Unknown | ||
| Unnamed | Iron | Unknown | ||
| Unnamed Prospect | Iron | Occurrence | ||
| Unnamed Prospect | Iron | Occurrence |
Storms near this place
3 since 2008Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Burntout in 3 storm reports between 2008 and 2018: 3 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2018 | Hail | Burntout | - | Baseball sized hail was reported near Burntout. |
| April 2014 | Hail | Burntout | - | Hail up to quarter sized was reported. |
| May 2008 | Hail | Burntout | - | Quarter size hail reported. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jordans Mill | 1.2 miles | 11 | |
| Piney Bend | 1.8 miles | 12 | |
| Halltown | 2.1 miles | 11 | |
| Old Burleson | 2.9 miles | 11 | |
| Seven Pines | 2.9 miles | 11 | |
| Dempsey | 4.5 miles | 12 | |
| Old Nauvoo | 5.1 miles | 12 | |
| Vina | 5.5 miles | 11 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 115270. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.






