Erin, Alabama
15 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1891 and the latest in 2001. It stands in the Lineville census division. It lies in ZIP code area 36266. It stands on Gold Mines Creek. The Survey maps it on the Clairmont Springs quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
7 surveys from 15 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1891 USGS Ashland quadrangle1:125000, 5 printings
- 1953 USGS Atlanta quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1957 USGS Atlanta quadrangle1:250000
- 1958 USGS Atlanta quadrangle1:250000
- 1969 USGS Clairmont Springs quadrangle1:24000, 4 printings
- 1978 USGS La Grange quadrangle1:100000
- 2001 USGS Clairmont Springs quadrangle1:24000
Fires near this place
242 since 1993Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 242 fires within 5 miles of Erin between 1993 and 2020, burning about 9,594 acres in total. 11 started naturally. 127 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 127 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 36 |
| Debris and open burning | 35 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 20 |
| Natural | 11 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 7 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 4 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
| Other causes | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2007 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 18 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 15 September 1994 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | National Forests in Alabama | not named |
| 12 September 1997 | Debris and open burning | 5.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 10 September 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 40 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 10 September 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 9 August 2014 | Natural | 138 acres | National Forests in Alabama | ROUGH ROAD |
| 5 August 2015 | Debris and open burning | 78 acres | National Forests in Alabama | MICKEY MOUSE |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
10 of 57 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 57 workings within 5 miles of Erin: 40 past producers, 10 prospects, 6 occurrences, 1 unknown. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Gold, Mica, Copper, Sulfur, Sulfuric Acid. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Central Clay County Gibbsite Prospect | Aluminum, Manganese | Occurrence | 1977 | |
| Monitor, King and Barrett Mines | Graphite, Vanadium, Mica | Past Producer | 1918 | |
| Pyriton Area | Copper, Zinc, Sulfur-Pyrite, Gold | Past Producer | 1850 | |
| Pyriton Mines | Sulfur, Copper | Past Producer | ||
| Pyriton Mines | Iron, Sulfur, Copper | Past Producer | 1862 | |
| Franklin Mine | Gold, Iron | Past Producer | ||
| Unnamed | Iron | Unknown | ||
| Acme Mine | Graphite | Past Producer | ||
| Unnamed Prospect | Graphite | Occurrence | ||
| Caldwell Mine | Sulfur, Sulfuric Acid, Copper | Past Producer |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Clairmont Springs | 1.4 miles | 15 | |
| Campbells Crossroads | 1.8 miles | 15 | |
| Campbell Springs | 2.2 miles | 12 | |
| Gunthertown | 2.5 miles | 15 | |
| Weathers | 3.4 miles | 15 | |
| Springhill | 3.7 miles | 15 | |
| Bowden Grove | 3.8 miles | 12 | |
| Pyriton | 4.0 miles | 12 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 159577. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.






