Griffen Mill, Alabama
13 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1907 and the latest in 1981. It stands in the Beauregard-Marvyn census division. It lies in ZIP code area 36804. It stands on Flake Creek. The Survey maps it on the Parkers Crossroads quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
7 surveys from 13 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1907 USGS Opelika quadrangle1:125000
- 1909 USGS Opelika quadrangle1:125000, 4 printings
- 1955 USGS Phenix City quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1957 USGS Phenix City quadrangle1:250000
- 1958 USGS Phenix City quadrangle1:250000
- 1971 USGS Parkers Crossroads quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1981 USGS Opelika quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
89 since 1994Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 89 fires within 5 miles of Griffen Mill between 1994 and 2019, burning about 1,297 acres in total. None started naturally. 18 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 35 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 18 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 8 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 7 |
| Smoking | 4 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 3 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 September 2005 | Smoking | 10 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 September 2016 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | 20160927-14 |
| 26 September 2016 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | 20160926-1 |
| 16 September 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | 20160916-8 |
| 16 September 2010 | Equipment and vehicle use | 25 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 14 September 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 14 September 1994 | Recreation and ceremony | 1.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 1 September 1999 | Smoking | 8.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
1 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Griffen Mill: 1 plant. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salem Pit | Clay | Plant |
Storms near this place
2 since 2013Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Griffen Mill in 2 storm reports between 2013 and 2019: 1 hail, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 2019 | Thunderstorm Wind | Griffen Mill | - | Several trees uprooted near the intersection of Highway 169 and County Road 175. |
| March 2013 | Hail | Griffen Mill | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Meadows Mill | 0.7 miles | 13 | |
| Meadows Crossroads | 0.7 miles | 13 | |
| Hopewell | 1.9 miles | 13 | |
| Prince Crossroads | 2.4 miles | 14 | |
| Moffits Mill | 4.4 miles | 14 | |
| Parkers Crossroads | 4.8 miles | 13 | |
| Spring Villa | 4.9 miles | 13 | |
| Salem | 5.1 miles | 14 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikidata item Q122557988 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 156434. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.






