Little Shoal, Alabama
21 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1893 and the latest in 1984. It stands in the North Johns census division. It lies in ZIP code area 35006. It lies near Coon Hollow. The Survey maps it on the Gilmore quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
9 surveys from 21 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1893 USGS Jasper quadrangle1:125000, 5 printings
- 1935 USGS Port Birmingham quadrangle1:48000
- 1938 USGS Port Birmingham quadrangle1:62500, 4 printings
- 1953 USGS Birmingham quadrangle1:250000, 4 printings
- 1956 USGS Birmingham quadrangle1:250000
- 1957 USGS Birmingham quadrangle1:250000
- 1971 USGS Gilmore quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1975 USGS Gilmore quadrangle1:24000
- 1984 USGS Jasper quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
184 since 1994Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 184 fires within 5 miles of Little Shoal between 1994 and 2019, burning about 2,336 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 75 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 75 |
| Debris and open burning | 68 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 22 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 5 |
| Natural | 4 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 3 |
| Smoking | 2 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 2 |
| Fireworks | 1 |
| Other causes | 1 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2002 | Arson/incendiarism | 18 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 7 September 1999 | Natural | 10 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 7 September 1994 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 September 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | 20170906-1 |
| 5 September 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 September 2002 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 September 1995 | Debris and open burning | 10 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 29 September 2011 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | 789 OLD PATTON FERRY RD., AL |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Driftwood | 1.8 miles | 21 | |
| Providence | 4.3 miles | 23 | |
| Vines Mill | 4.5 miles | 20 | |
| Toadvine | 4.9 miles | 20 | |
| Gilmore | 5.5 miles | 21 | |
| Oak Grove | 6.0 miles | 20 | |
| Ezra | 6.8 miles | 20 | |
| Alliance | 7.2 miles | 21 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikidata item Q122595805 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 121889. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.








