Pine Apple, Alabama
7 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1953 and the latest in 1986. It stands in the Pine Apple census division. It lies in ZIP code area 36768. The Survey maps it on the Pine Apple South quadrangle. 143 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 303 feet above sea level.
On record in Pine Apple
Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.
On the National Register 2 records
Hawthorn Houselisted 1985
Pine Apple Historic Districtlisted 1999
Surveyed buildings and structures 1 record
- Colonel Joseph R. Hawthorne House, Broad Street (County Road 59), Pine Applefederal building survey, 18 photographs
Population over time
2 figuresPine Apple grew from 132 to 143 between 2010 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.
| Year | People | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 132 | |
| 2020 | 143 | +11 (+8%) |
Topographic sheets covering this place
4 surveys from 7 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1953 USGS Andalusia quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1957 USGS Andalusia quadrangle1:250000
- 1981 USGS Pine Apple South quadrangle1:24000
- 1986 USGS Greenville quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Photographs
1 photograph,Taken for the Office of War Information and the Farm Security Administration, who photographed the country between 1935 and 1944. Works of United States government photographers, with no known restriction on use. Each opens its catalogue record.
Photographer not recorded. Library of Congress
Fires near this place
36 since 1994Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 36 fires within 5 miles of Pine Apple between 1994 and 2020, burning about 547 acres in total. None started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 16 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 5 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 3 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 3 |
| Other causes | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2020 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | 20200908-2 |
| 30 September 2019 | Arson/incendiarism | 5.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | 20190930-19 |
| 30 September 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | 1080 CO. RD. 155, AL |
| 29 September 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 18 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 20 September 1997 | Debris and open burning | 7.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 19 September 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | 111 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 23 August 2000 | Debris and open burning | 45 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 5 July 1998 | Debris and open burning | 6.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Storms near this place
2 since 1999Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Pine Apple in 2 storm reports in 1999: 1 hail, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rutthven | 2.4 miles | 7 | |
| Schuster | 3.0 miles | 7 | |
| Awin | 3.3 miles | 7 | |
| Allenton Station | 4.3 miles | 7 | |
| Caledonia | 5.3 miles | 7 | |
| Allenton | 5.5 miles | 7 | |
| Oak Hill | 5.9 miles | 7 | |
| McWilliams | 6.2 miles | 7 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Pine Apple | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q65571 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 152909. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.



