BlockBefore

Rutledge, Alabama

7 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1953 and the latest in 1986. It stands in the Luverne census division. It lies in ZIP code area 36049. It stands on Cane Creek. The Survey maps it on the Luverne quadrangle. 351 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 344 feet above sea level.

Rutledge within Crenshaw County

Population over time

2 figures

Rutledge fell from 467 to 351 between 2010 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.

YearPeople Change
2010467
2020351-116 (-25%)

Topographic sheets covering this place

4 surveys from 7 printed sheets

Matched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.

Fires near this place

92 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 92 fires within 5 miles of Rutledge between 1994 and 2019, burning about 594 acres in total. None started naturally. 7 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning52
Missing data/not specified/undetermined11
Arson/incendiarism7
Equipment and vehicle use6
Recreation and ceremony6
Smoking4
Railroad operations and maintenance2
Other causes2
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
5 September 2017Debris and open burning2.5 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20170905-1
29 September 2008Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreAlabama Forestry CommissionNEAR SPRINGHILL RD., AL
26 September 2004Debris and open burningunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
22 September 2008Debris and open burning3.0 acresAlabama Forestry CommissionHWY 10, AL
17 September 1999Debris and open burningunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
12 September 1995Smokingunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
11 September 2013Missing data/not specified/undetermined14 acresAlabama Forestry CommissionSER-20130911-003
25 August 1998Debris and open burningunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named

Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:

Every fire recorded in Crenshaw County

Mines and quarries near this place

10 of 26 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 26 workings within 5 miles of Rutledge: 13 unknowns, 6 past producers, 5 occurrences, 2 prospects. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Iron, Manganese. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Crenshaw County Brown Iron Ore DepositsIron, ManganesePast Producer1939
E W Williams ProspectIronProspect
E W Williams ProspectIronProspect
Horn PitIronPast Producer
UnnamedIronUnknown
UnnamedIronUnknown
UnnamedIronUnknown
UnnamedIronUnknown
UnnamedIronUnknown
UnnamedIronUnknown

Every working recorded in Crenshaw County

Storms near this place

13 since 2003

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Rutledge in 13 storm reports between 2003 and 2023: 9 thunderstorm wind, 3 flash flood, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
September 2009Flash FloodRutledge$25,000Chicken houses flooded off county Road 77 near Rutledge. Portions of Alabama State Highway 10 near Rutledge closed due to flooding. Some homes were flooded in the Rutledge area.
March 2016Thunderstorm WindRutledge$10,000Severe thunderstorm wind gusts caused damage to one house and downed numerous tree across the southern portion of Crenshaw County.
April 2007Thunderstorm WindRutledge$7,000Severe thunderstorms caused tree and outbuilding damage southwest of Rutledge.
January 2017Flash FloodRutledge$5,000Several roads closed in the Rutledge area due to flash flooding.
June 2003Thunderstorm WindRutledge$5,000High winds from a thunderstorm blew down several trees just west of Rutledge.
June 2023Thunderstorm WindRutledge-High winds downed trees and debris blocking roads.
April 2022Thunderstorm WindRutledge-High winds removed shingles and caused damage to a storage building.
November 2022Thunderstorm WindRutledge-High winds downed multiple trees with some blocking roads.
December 2021Thunderstorm WindRutledge-High winds downed multiple trees and power lines just west of Rutledge.
January 2020Thunderstorm WindRutledge-A fallen tree caused damage to a structure on North Watts Avenue.
April 2020Thunderstorm WindRutledge-A severe thunderstorm downed numerous trees west and southwest of Rutledge.
December 2009Flash FloodRutledge-Swanner Bridge Road closed due to water covering the roadway.
March 2016HailRutledge-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Crenshaw County

Nearest settlements

The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.

Map PlaceDistance Sheets
Cherokee Village1.4 miles7
Luverne2.6 miles7
Vernledge3.0 miles7
Ivy Creek3.4 miles7
Robinson Crossroads3.5 miles7
Moodys Crossroads4.5 miles7
Centenary4.5 miles7
Patsburg5.8 miles7

Elsewhere

Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.

Wikipedia article on RutledgeAn encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied.
Wikidata item Q67118The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0).

Provenance

This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 153234. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.

Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.