BlockBefore

Scottsboro Crossroads, Alabama

8 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1953 and the latest in 1981. It stands in the Shorterville census division. It lies in ZIP code area 36310. The Survey maps it on the Fort Gaines NW quadrangle.

Scottsboro Crossroads within Henry County

Topographic sheets covering this place

5 surveys from 8 printed sheets

Matched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.

Fires near this place

53 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 53 fires within 5 miles of Scottsboro Crossroads between 1994 and 2020, burning about 295 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 8 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning23
Missing data/not specified/undetermined12
Arson/incendiarism8
Recreation and ceremony5
Equipment and vehicle use2
Smoking1
Natural1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
25 September 2019Debris and open burning1.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20190925-5
24 September 1996Recreation and ceremony2.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
23 September 2019Arson/incendiarism4.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20190923-22
21 September 2010Missing data/not specified/undetermined9.8 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
5 August 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20200805-3
29 August 1995Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
19 July 2007Equipment and vehicle use5.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
4 June 2019Debris and open burning2.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20190604-13

Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:

Every fire recorded in Henry County

Mines and quarries near this place

10 of 235 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 235 workings within 5 miles of Scottsboro Crossroads: 131 occurrences, 81 past producers, 8 producers, 8 prospects. 8 still produce. What was taken out: Aluminum, Iron, Water, Free, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Abbeville Limestone QuarryLimestone, GeneralPast Producer
Henry County PitLimestone, GeneralProducer
Barbour County Mines Pit 2Fire Clay (Refractory), AluminumProducer
Harbison-Walker Henry County MinesFire Clay (Refractory)Producer
W M Bledsoe Henry County MinesFire Clay (Refractory)Producer
Barbour County MineClayProducer
Farmer 2Aluminum, Clay, Water, FreePast ProducerSurface
Henry County MinesClayProducer
Mathison MineClayProducer
Barbour Operations MineAluminum, Water, FreeProducerSurface

Every working recorded in Henry County

Storms near this place

2 since 2011

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Scottsboro Crossroads in 2 storm reports between 2011 and 2015: 1 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
April 2011Thunderstorm WindScottsboro Crossroads$3,000Trees were blown down and blocked County Road 92. The monetary damage figure provided is a rough estimate.
June 2015HailScottsboro Crossroads-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Henry County

Nearest settlements

The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.

Map PlaceDistance Sheets
Screamer2.7 miles8
Coates3.8 miles8
Lawrenceville4.2 miles8
Otho4.4 miles8
White Oak5.7 miles8
Graball8.5 miles9
Edwin9.0 miles8
Abbeville9.0 miles9

Elsewhere

Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.

Wikidata item Q122597058The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0).

Provenance

This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 157029. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.

Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.