Stonewall, Alabama
14 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1907 and the latest in 1981. It stands in the Loachapoka-Roxana census division. It lies in ZIP code area 36801. The Survey maps it on the Opelika West quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
7 surveys from 14 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1907 USGS Opelika quadrangle1:125000
- 1909 USGS Opelika quadrangle1:125000, 4 printings
- 1955 USGS Phenix City quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1957 USGS Phenix City quadrangle1:250000
- 1958 USGS Phenix City quadrangle1:250000
- 1971 USGS Opelika West quadrangle1:24000, 3 printings
- 1981 USGS Opelika quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
45 since 1994Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 45 fires within 5 miles of Stonewall between 1994 and 2019, burning about 271 acres in total. None started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 22 |
| Debris and open burning | 14 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 5 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 September 2002 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 20 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | 20190920-29 |
| 10 September 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | 20160910-24 |
| 30 July 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | ECR-20120730-001 |
| 24 June 2011 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 6.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | HWY 147, AL |
| 20 May 2007 | Arson/incendiarism | 20 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 April 2010 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 10 April 2013 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | ECR-20130410-006 |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
2 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Stonewall: 1 occurrence, 1 prospect. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Titanium, Mica. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bruce Priester Prospect | Titanium | Occurrence | ||
| Yarborough-Smith-Neighbor Prospect | Mica | Prospect |
Storms near this place
3 since 2009Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Stonewall in 3 storm reports between 2009 and 2024: 2 flash flood, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 2009 | Flash Flood | Stonewall | $5,000 | Repeated heavy rainfall led to the closure of a portion of CR-318, due to water flowing over a bridge. |
| February 2024 | Flash Flood | Stonewall | - | Roads around Smiths Station became impassable after heavy rainfall. |
| August 2019 | Thunderstorm Wind | Stonewall | - | Several trees uprooted and power lines downed near the intersection of Lee Road 318 and 319. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gold Hill | 1.9 miles | 11 | |
| The Bottle | 2.1 miles | 14 | |
| Farmville | 2.9 miles | 14 | |
| Aubrey | 3.0 miles | 14 | |
| North Auburn | 3.8 miles | 14 | |
| Lakewood | 3.9 miles | 14 | |
| Ridge Grove | 4.0 miles | 11 | |
| North Gate | 4.8 miles | 14 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 157116. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.






