Wheeler Dam Village, Alabama
17 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1914 and the latest in 1986. It stands in the Town Creek-Courtland census division. It lies in ZIP code area 35672. It stands on Big Nance Creek. The Survey maps it on the Wheeler Dam quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
10 surveys from 17 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1914 USGS Rogersville quadrangle1:48000
- 1916 USGS Rogersville quadrangle1:62500, 2 printings
- 1936 USGS Wheeler Dam quadrangle1:24000
- 1952 USGS Wheeler Dam quadrangle1:24000
- 1956 USGS Gadsden quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1958 USGS Gadsden quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Gadsden quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1963 USGS Gadsden quadrangle1:250000
- 1971 USGS Wheeler Dam quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1986 USGS Tuscumbia quadrangle1:100000, 3 printings
Fires near this place
49 since 1994Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 49 fires within 5 miles of Wheeler Dam Village between 1994 and 2016, burning about 445 acres in total. None started naturally. 16 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 16 |
| Debris and open burning | 13 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 6 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 4 |
| Smoking | 4 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 September 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 18 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 18 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 14 September 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 15 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 21 August 2007 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 21 August 2005 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 14 July 1997 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 10 July 2007 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Storms near this place
4 since 2009Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Wheeler Dam Village in 4 storm reports between 2009 and 2025: 2 thunderstorm wind, 1 flash flood, 1 flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 2025 | Thunderstorm Wind | Wheeler Dam Village | $3,000 | Trees were reported down at Wheeler Dam. This report was relayed via broadcast media. |
| December 2021 | Thunderstorm Wind | Wheeler Dam Village | $500 | A tree was knocked down at the intersection of Alabama Highway 101 and CR 414. |
| April 2011 | Flood | Wheeler Dam Village | - | Several roads and low water crossing were flooded by Big Nance Creek, Town Creek and other smaller tributaries. A few cars attempted to cross the flooded roads were inundated. Time estimated. |
| December 2009 | Flash Flood | Wheeler Dam Village | - | Widespread rainfall between 3 and 5 inches (with isolated higher amounts around 6 inches near the Speake community) produced widespread flooding across Lawrence county. Particularly hit was the Speake community and portions of extreme southeastern Lawrence county. Roads affected included: CR 214, CR 301, CR 87, and CR 72, Alabama highway 157 near Wiggins Grocery. To or three residences on Lawrence county 203 were evacuated because of rising water. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fishermans Resort | 1.1 miles | 17 | |
| Wheeler Dam Subdivision | 1.1 miles | 17 | |
| Freeman Acres | 1.8 miles | 17 | |
| Red Bank | 1.9 miles | 17 | |
| Lennon Hill | 4.2 miles | 15 | |
| Rocky Hill (historical) | 7.5 miles | 14 | |
| Town Creek | 7.9 miles | 15 | |
| Rocky Hill | 8.1 miles | 14 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikidata item Q122552067 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 128832. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.









