BlockBefore
Photograph of Wheeler Dam
Photograph by Tennessee Valley Authority, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Wheeler Hydroelectric Project

Built in 1933. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2016.

From the record

“Wheeler Dam is a hydroelectric dam on the Tennessee River between Lauderdale County and Lawrence County, Alabama. It is one of nine dams on the river owned and operated by the Tennessee Valley Authority, which built the dam in the mid-1930s as part of a New Deal-era initiative to improve navigation on the river and bring flood control and economic development to the region.”

Wikipedia article Wheeler Dam, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 12 National Register listings published here for Lawrence County · listed in 2016 · category: District · built in 1933.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. 24455 AL 101, Rogersville, 35652
  • When was it listed? July 2016
  • Category. district
  • Also known as. Tennessee Valley Authority Hydroelectric System, 1933-1979 MPS
  • When was it built? 1933
  • National Register reference number. 16000431 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

55 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 55 fires within 5 miles of Wheeler Hydroelectric Project between 1994 and 2016, burning about 364 acres in total. None started naturally. 16 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning18
Arson/incendiarism16
Recreation and ceremony6
Equipment and vehicle use6
Missing data/not specified/undetermined5
Smoking4

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
4 September 1999Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
18 September 1999Arson/incendiarismunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
18 September 1999Arson/incendiarismunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
14 September 1998Arson/incendiarism15 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
4 August 2005Debris and open burning3.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
21 August 2005Debris and open burning2.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
21 August 2000Arson/incendiarismunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
21 August 2000Arson/incendiarismunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Lawrence County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Goode-Hall House5.6 miles1974

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 16000431 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Lawrence CountyAll 12 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.