BlockBefore
Photograph of USS Tecumseh
Photograph by Robert Weir, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

U.S.S. TECUMSEH

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1975.

From the record

“USS Tecumseh was a Canonicus-class monitor built for the United States Navy during the American Civil War. Although intended for forthcoming operations against Confederate fortifications guarding Mobile Bay with Rear Admiral David Farragut's West Gulf Blockading Squadron, Tecumseh was temporarily assigned to the James River Flotilla in April 1864.”

Wikipedia article USS Tecumseh (1863), CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 61 National Register listings published here for Baldwin County · listed in 1975 · category: Structure.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. NW of Fort Morgan in Mobile Bay, Fort Morgan
  • When was it listed? May 1975
  • Category. structure
  • Census division. Foley
  • National Register reference number. 75000306 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

8 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 8 fires within 5 miles of U.S.S. TECUMSEH between 1995 and 2019, burning about 57 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism2
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2
Equipment and vehicle use1
Recreation and ceremony1
Fireworks1
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
29 September 1995Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresBon Secour National Wildlife RefugeFTMORGANRV
27 August 2011Arson/incendiarism30 acresAlabama Forestry Commission109 BIENVILLE BLVD., AL
2 August 1998Recreation and ceremony3.0 acresBon Secour National Wildlife RefugeF+MGNCAMP
13 July 2012Fireworks1.0 acresBon Secour National Wildlife RefugeFORT MORGAN FIREWORKS
5 June 2019Naturalunder an acreBon Secour National Wildlife RefugeST. ANDREWS
23 April 2017Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20170423-1
10 March 1995Missing data/not specified/undetermined20 acresBon Secour National Wildlife RefugeLDISLAND95
5 January 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commission20180105-3

Every fire recorded in Baldwin County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of U.S.S. TECUMSEH: 1 occurrence. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Titanium, Metal, Zirconium. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Dauphine Island Offshore SandsTitanium, Metal, ZirconiumOccurrencePlacer

Every working recorded in Baldwin County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Fort Morgan Casemates0.3 miles1966
Sand Island Light3.4 miles1975

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 75000306 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Baldwin CountyAll 61 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.