BlockBefore

St. Clair Springs

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.

From the record

One of 14 National Register listings published here for St. Clair County · listed in 1976 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • Address. AL 23, St. Clair Springs, 35146
  • When was it listed? April 1976
  • Category. district
  • Census division. Springville
  • National Register reference number. 76002140 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

125 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 125 fires within 5 miles of St. Clair Springs between 1994 and 2020, burning about 1,520 acres in total. None started naturally. 33 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning58
Arson/incendiarism33
Missing data/not specified/undetermined10
Recreation and ceremony9
Equipment and vehicle use5
Smoking5
Railroad operations and maintenance4
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2011Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commission265 GRAY FOX RD., AL
9 September 1995Debris and open burning2.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
7 September 1997Debris and open burning1.5 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 1995Recreation and ceremony1.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 1998Equipment and vehicle use5.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 1998Arson/incendiarism8.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 1997Arson/incendiarism12 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 1995Debris and open burning3.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in St. Clair County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 16 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 16 workings within 5 miles of St. Clair Springs: 6 past producers, 4 prospects, 3 occurrences, 3 unknowns. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Barker Mountain ProspectIronProspect
No Name, Springvile AreaIronPast ProducerHematite
Springville-St. Clair AreaIronPast ProducerHematite
UnnamedIronUnknown
UnnamedIronUnknown
UnnamedIronUnknown
Unnamed MineIronPast Producer
Unnamed MineIronPast Producer
Unnamed MineIronPast Producer
Unnamed MineIronPast Producer

Every working recorded in St. Clair County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

4 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Springville Historic District3.9 miles1997
Presley Store3.9 miles1983
Rev. Thomas Newton House5.3 miles1991
John Ash House5.9 miles1991

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 76002140 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
St. Clair CountyAll 14 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.