BlockBefore
Photograph of Stephenson House
Photograph by local government, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Stephenson House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978.

From the record

“The Stephenson House was built in 1887 in Oakman, Alabama. The Eastlake style house is one of the oldest houses in town, built for Dr.”

Wikipedia article Stephenson House (Oakman, Alabama), CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 8 National Register listings published here for Walker County · listed in 1978 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 4 buildingss, 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Cobb St., Oakman, 35579
  • When was it listed? September 1978
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Oakman
  • National Register reference number. 78000510 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

178 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 178 fires within 5 miles of Stephenson House between 1994 and 2020, burning about 1,611 acres in total. None started naturally. 74 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism74
Debris and open burning62
Missing data/not specified/undetermined28
Equipment and vehicle use4
Recreation and ceremony4
Power generation/transmission/distribution2
Railroad operations and maintenance2
Other causes1
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
6 September 2016Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20160906-9
6 September 1999Arson/incendiarismunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 1999Arson/incendiarismunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 1998Debris and open burningunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
29 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20190929-15
28 September 2016Debris and open burning4.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20160928-36
25 September 2014Missing data/not specified/undetermined25 acresAlabama Forestry CommissionNWR-20140925-002
21 September 2010Debris and open burning3.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Walker County

Storms near this property

6 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Oakman, the town this property stands in, in 6 storm reports between 1998 and 2011: 2 hail, 2 tornado, 1 funnel cloud, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
December 2008Tornado (EF1)Oakman$215,000The tornado touched down just west of Jackson Street on the north side of Oakman. It then traveled northeastward, crossed School Street and AL-69, and lifted on Watts Street just east of AL-69. Metal bleachers were twisted and thrown at the Oakman School athletic field, and the concession stand at the ball field was heavily damaged. Oakman Elementary School sustained only light structural damage directly from the tornado. However, rain leaking through the damaged roof and ceiling caused extensive water damage to parts of the school building. Several houses along AL-69 suffered also significant roof damage. Approximately 150 trees were either uprooted or snapped off.
November 2003Tornado (F1)Oakman$105,000At 12:07 pm CST, an F1 tornado touched down near the intersection of Fruit Jar Road and CR 20 just east-northeast of Oakman. The tornado tracked northeastward affecting areas between the Providence and Kings Mill communities. The tornado ended at 12:14 pm CST near the intersection of SR 269 and Parrish Loop, north of Parrish. The tornado path was 6.3 miles long and 100 yards wide at its widest point. Approximately 15 homes and mobile homes sustained varying degrees of damage. Numerous trees and power lines were blown down along the path, and several barns and outbuildings were also damaged. No injuries were reported.The tornado apparently came out of a very small circulation that developed on the north side of a small bowing segment. These storms were very unique in that little to no lightning accompanied them.Beg: 33 43.055/87 22.128 End: 33 45.536/87 16.314
September 2011Flash FloodOakman-Due to heavy rainfall from the remnants of Tropical Storm Lee, Alabama Highway 69 in Oakman was temporarily impassable due to flooding.
May 2003HailOakman-Nickel size hail was reported in Oakman.
May 2003Funnel CloudOakman-A funnel cloud was reported near Oakman just off SR 69.
February 1998HailOakman-Nickel size hail was reported covering the ground in Oakman.

Every storm recorded in Walker County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Gilchrist House5.9 miles1972

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 78000510 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Walker CountyAll 8 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.