BlockBefore
Photograph of St. Luke's Episcopal Church
Photograph by Altairisfar (Jeffrey Reed), CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

St. Luke's Episcopal Church

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1982.

From the record

“Luke's Episcopal Church is a historic Carpenter Gothic church built in 1850s at Cahaba, Alabama, the state's first capital from 1820 to 1826. The unknown builder closely followed plans published by architect Richard Upjohn in his 1852 book Rural Architecture.”

Wikipedia article St. Luke's Episcopal Church (Cahaba, Alabama), CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 35 National Register listings published here for Dallas County · listed in 1982 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. S of Browns, Browns, 36773
  • When was it listed? March 1982
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Safford
  • Architectural style. Gothic Revival
  • National Register reference number. 82002008 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

73 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 73 fires within 5 miles of St. Luke's Episcopal Church between 1994 and 2019, burning about 654 acres in total. None started naturally. 13 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning35
Arson/incendiarism13
Missing data/not specified/undetermined6
Equipment and vehicle use6
Recreation and ceremony4
Smoking4
Power generation/transmission/distribution2
Railroad operations and maintenance2
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2004Arson/incendiarism17 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
4 September 2000Debris and open burningunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
4 September 2000Debris and open burning1.5 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
28 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commission20190928-2
28 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20190928-1
26 September 2000Debris and open burning5.5 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
25 September 2010Debris and open burning1.5 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
24 September 2016Debris and open burning5.3 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20160924-11

Every fire recorded in Dallas County

Storms near this property

1 since 2023

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Browns, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 2023: 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
March 2023HailBrowns-Penny size hail reported near the intersection of Highway 80 and County Road 5.

Every storm recorded in Dallas County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 82002008 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Dallas CountyAll 35 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.