From the record
One of 26 National Register listings published here for Lee County · listed in 1983 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983.
One of 26 National Register listings published here for Lee County · listed in 1983 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 72 fires within 5 miles of Dr. Andrew D. McLain Office and Drug Store between 1994 and 2020, burning about 1,099 acres in total. None started naturally. 20 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 25 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 20 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 14 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 7 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 4 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 29 September 2019 | Arson/incendiarism | 85 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | 20190929-8 |
| 28 September 2001 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 28 September 2001 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 28 September 2001 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 2 September 2011 | Debris and open burning | 10 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | 424 LEE ROAD 201, AL |
| 14 September 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 August 1996 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 22 August 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Dr. Andrew D. McLain Office and Drug Store: 1 plant, 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hearn Mine | Clay | Producer | ||
| Salem Pit | Clay | Plant |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Salem, the town this property stands in, in 17 storm reports between 1995 and 2026: 7 thunderstorm wind, 6 hail, 2 funnel cloud, 1 tornado. The reports record 3 injuries. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| February 2009 | Tornado (EF2) | Salem | 3 hurt, $1,100,000 | The tornado touched down southwest of the community of Salem. It then moved just north of due east, crossing US-280 and several smaller county roads, before lifting at CR-379. Winds estimated at 125-130 mph destroyed 6 mobile homes and 4 site built homes, badly damaged 8 homes, and caused minor damage to 9 others. Two area businesses were destroyed, one other received minor damage, and one school building was damaged. Hundreds of trees were snapped off and uprooted, and one 18-wheeler was overturned. There were three minor injuries reported, only one that required hospitalization. |
| March 1996 | Hail | Salem | $12,000 | no account filed |
| October 2004 | Thunderstorm Wind | Salem | $3,000 | no account filed |
| October 2011 | Thunderstorm Wind | Salem | $2,000 | Trees and powerlines were blown down near the Salem area. |
| July 1995 | Thunderstorm Wind | Salem | $2,000 | Several trees were reported across a road near Salem in the eastern part of Lee County. |
| January 2026 | Thunderstorm Wind | Salem | - | Trees and powerlines were downed in the Salem community. |
| March 2025 | Thunderstorm Wind | Salem | - | Several trees were downed in the Salem area, including along Highway 280. |
| March 2025 | Hail | Salem | - | Up to 1.5-inch hail was reported at Wacoochee Elementary School. |
| May 2020 | Thunderstorm Wind | Salem | - | Several trees uprooted and power lines downed along Lee Road 252. |
| August 2020 | Thunderstorm Wind | Salem | - | Several trees uprooted near the intersection of County Road 183 and Highway 280. |
| September 2009 | Flash Flood | Salem | - | Water was flowing over the road at the intersection of US-280 and Lee Road 175, near the Salem community. |
| October 2004 | Funnel Cloud | Salem | - | A funnel cloud was reported just east of Mechanicsville near Lake Harding on the Chattahootchee River. |
| June 2002 | Hail | Salem | - | Quarter size hail was reported in and around Salem. |
| February 2000 | Hail | Salem | - | Dime size hail fell in Salem. |
| April 2017 | Hail | Salem | - | no account filed |
| August 2010 | Hail | Salem | - | no account filed |
| October 2004 | Funnel Cloud | Salem | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Spring Villa | 4.3 miles | 1978 |
![]() | Summers Plantation | 5.4 miles | 1991 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 83002978 in Record Group 79. |
| Lee County | All 26 listed properties in this county. |