BlockBefore
Photograph of Creekwood
Photograph by Rivers A. Langley; SaveRivers, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Creekwood

Built in 1850 (Greek Revival architecture). Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1989.

From the record

“Creekwood, near Creekstand, Alabama, was built c. 1844. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1989.”

Wikipedia article Creekwood, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 14 National Register listings published here for Macon County · listed in 1989 · category: Building · built in 1850, Greek Revival architecture.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Society Hill Rd., 0.4 mi. N of Co. Hwy. 10, Creekstand, 36860
  • When was it listed? April 1989
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Warriorstand-Creek Stand
  • When was it built? 1850
  • Architectural style. Greek Revival architecture
  • National Register reference number. 89000310 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

273 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 273 fires within 5 miles of Creekwood between 1994 and 2020, burning about 7,448 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 102 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism102
Debris and open burning75
Missing data/not specified/undetermined49
Smoking22
Recreation and ceremony14
Equipment and vehicle use7
Misuse of fire by a minor2
Natural2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2016Missing data/not specified/undetermined30 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20160909-19
30 September 2019Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20190930-1
28 September 2019Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20190928-11
27 September 2019Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20190927-3
24 September 2008Smoking5.0 acresAlabama Forestry CommissionHWY 51, AL
2 September 2010Arson/incendiarism5.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
17 September 2018Misuse of fire by a minor7.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20180917-8
17 September 1999Arson/incendiarism12 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Macon County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Creekwood: 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Silica, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Hurtsboro QuarrySilica, Sand and Gravel, ConstructionProducerQuartz

Every working recorded in Macon County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Creek Stand A.M.E. Zion Church Cemetery0.9 miles2016

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 89000310 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Macon CountyAll 14 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.