BlockBefore
Photograph of Oak Grove School
Photograph by Altairisfar, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Oak Grove School

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998.

From the record

“The Oak Grove School (1925-1960s) is a historic two-room Rosenwald School building, and former black school in rural Hale County, Alabama, United States.”

Wikipedia article Oak Grove School (Prairieville, Alabama), CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 21 National Register listings published here for Hale County · listed in 1998 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 0.25 mi. W of AL 69, 1 mi. N of jct. of AL 69 and US-80, Prairieville, 36742
  • When was it listed? March 1998
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. The Rosenwald School Building Fund and Associated Buildings MPS
  • Census division. Newbern
  • Architect. Samuel L. Smith
  • National Register reference number. 98000108 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

35 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 35 fires within 5 miles of Oak Grove School between 1995 and 2020, burning about 155 acres in total. None started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined17
Debris and open burning11
Recreation and ceremony3
Arson/incendiarism3
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 1995Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
22 September 2013Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreAlabama Forestry CommissionNWR-20130922-001
21 September 1997Debris and open burningunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
14 September 2010Debris and open burning3.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
12 September 2010Debris and open burning1.4 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
31 August 2000Arson/incendiarismunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
5 July 2009Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
17 July 2012Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreAlabama Forestry CommissionNWR-20120717-001

Every fire recorded in Hale County

Storms near this property

3 since 2010

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Prairieville, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 2010 and 2022: 2 hail, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
October 2022HailPrairieville-Photos of large hail along Highway 80 near the town of Gallion.
February 2020Thunderstorm WindPrairieville-Several trees uprooted north of the town of Gallion.
October 2010HailPrairieville-Quarter size hail lasted 2-3 minutes.

Every storm recorded in Hale County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Bermuda Hill1.4 miles1994
Hawthorne2.6 miles1994
St. Andrew's Church2.8 miles1973
Battersea2.9 miles1994
Kerby House2.9 miles1994
Emory School4.7 miles1998

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 98000108 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Hale CountyAll 21 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.