BlockBefore
Photograph of Street Manual Training School
Photograph by Mthunter58, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Street Manual Training School

Built in 1904. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1999.

From the record

“The Street Manual Training School was a historic African American school in Richmond, Alabama, United States. The campus comprised over 200 acres (81 ha), but most of it was sold after the school closed in 1971.”

Wikipedia article Street Manual Training School, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 35 National Register listings published here for Dallas County · listed in 1999 · category: Building · built in 1904.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. 263 Cty. Rd. 38, Ruchmond-Minter, 36761
  • When was it listed? July 1999
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Carlowville
  • When was it built? 1904
  • National Register reference number. 99000891 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

34 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 34 fires within 5 miles of Street Manual Training School between 1994 and 2019, burning about 404 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning11
Missing data/not specified/undetermined6
Equipment and vehicle use5
Arson/incendiarism5
Recreation and ceremony3
Smoking2
Natural1
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2016Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commission20160909-21
6 September 2002Debris and open burningunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
19 September 1997Arson/incendiarism4.5 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
1 August 2014Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreAlabama Forestry CommissionNWR-20140801-002
9 July 2006Arson/incendiarism83 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
9 July 2006Arson/incendiarismunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
18 July 2000Debris and open burning16 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
1 July 2019Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commission20190701-4

Every fire recorded in Dallas County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Carlowville Historic District2.3 miles1978

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 99000891 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Dallas CountyAll 35 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.