Avilla, Arkansas
20 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1890 and the latest in 1994. It stands in Salem Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72002. The Survey maps it on the Congo quadrangle. 1,325 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 505 feet above sea level.
Population over time
2 figuresAvilla grew from 896 to 1,325 between 2010 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.
| Year | People | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 896 | |
| 2020 | 1,325 | +429 (+48%) |
Topographic sheets covering this place
12 surveys from 20 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1890 USGS Benton quadrangle1:125000
- 1894 USGS Benton quadrangle1:125000, 5 printings
- 1938 USGS Benton quadrangle1:62500, 3 printings
- 1938 USGS Benton quadrangle1:48000
- 1944 USGS Benton quadrangle1:62500
- 1955 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1956 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1974 USGS Congo quadrangle1:24000, 3 printings
- 1985 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:100000
- 1994 USGS Congo quadrangle1:24000
Fires near this place
123 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 123 fires within 5 miles of Avilla between 1997 and 2020, burning about 724 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 23 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 53 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 34 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 23 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 6 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 3 |
| Natural | 2 |
| Smoking | 1 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 8 September 2006 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 7 September 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 5 September 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 28 September 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 September 1999 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 26 September 2015 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 22 September 2005 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
7 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 7 workings within 5 miles of Avilla: 4 prospects, 2 unknowns, 1 occurrence. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Talc-Soapstone, Nickel, Nickel, Talc-Soapstone, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unknown | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Unknown | ||
| Wallis Soapstone Pit | Talc-Soapstone, Nickel | Prospect | ||
| Arkansas Talc Co. Mine | Talc-Soapstone | Unknown | ||
| Duke-Warner Pit | Nickel, Talc-Soapstone | Prospect | ||
| Inman Soapstone Prospect | Nickel, Talc-Soapstone | Prospect | ||
| Unknown | Nickel, Talc-Soapstone | Prospect | ||
| Unnamed | Nickel | Occurrence | Pyrite, Pyrrhotite, Soapstone |
Storms near this place
20 since 1995Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Avilla in 20 storm reports between 1995 and 2024: 10 hail, 7 thunderstorm wind, 3 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2012 | Thunderstorm Wind | Avilla | $75,000 | Two barns were blown down, some outbuildings were damaged, and trees were blown down onto roads. |
| August 2010 | Thunderstorm Wind | Avilla | $5,000 | Trees were blown down. |
| May 2024 | Thunderstorm Wind | Avilla | - | Several trees fell down onto Snow Lane near the community of Congo. |
| May 2024 | Hail | Avilla | - | Quarter-sized hail fell near the community of Congo via mPING. |
| June 2021 | Flash Flood | Avilla | - | The intersection at Sparks Rd. at Zuber road flooded. Water was over many roads in the area. |
| February 2018 | Flash Flood | Avilla | - | Multiple roads are flooded with water running over them in Searcy County. |
| May 2011 | Hail | Avilla | - | Hail up to nickel size covered the ground. |
| October 2009 | Flash Flood | Avilla | - | A private road was flooded. |
| March 2003 | Thunderstorm Wind | Avilla | - | The roof of a boat dock was blown off. |
| July 2002 | Thunderstorm Wind | Avilla | - | Thunderstorm winds blew down some trees near the Saline/Pulaski County line. |
| April 2017 | Hail | Avilla | - | no account filed |
| March 2015 | Hail | Avilla | - | no account filed |
| May 2008 | Hail | Avilla | - | no account filed |
| August 2000 | Thunderstorm Wind | Avilla | - | no account filed |
| January 1999 | Hail | Avilla | - | no account filed |
| August 1999 | Thunderstorm Wind | Avilla | - | no account filed |
| July 1998 | Hail | Avilla | - | no account filed |
| February 1998 | Hail | Avilla | - | no account filed |
| March 1996 | Hail | Avilla | - | no account filed |
| October 1995 | Hail | Avilla | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Congo | 1.6 miles | 20 | |
| Tatumville (historical) | 2.0 miles | 20 | |
| Salem | 4.0 miles | 20 | |
| Grape | 5.0 miles | 19 | |
| Springhill | 5.3 miles | 20 | |
| Bland | 5.5 miles | 19 | |
| Sherwood Estates | 6.0 miles | 23 | |
| Edgewood | 6.4 miles | 23 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Avilla | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q4828849 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 56912. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.











