Boyd Hill, Arkansas
15 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1952 and the latest in 1989. It stands in Russell Township. It lies in ZIP code area 71845. It stands on Boyd Hill. The Survey maps it on the Boyd Hill quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
7 surveys from 15 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1952 USGS Boyd Hill quadrangle1:24000, 4 printings
- 1953 USGS El Dorado quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1957 USGS El Dorado quadrangle1:250000
- 1958 USGS El Dorado quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1960 USGS El Dorado quadrangle1:250000
- 1986 USGS Magnolia quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
- 1989 USGS El Dorado quadrangle1:250000
Fires near this place
47 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 47 fires within 5 miles of Boyd Hill between 1997 and 2019, burning about 305 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 12 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 22 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 12 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 9 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
| Natural | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 1999 | Debris and open burning | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 9 September 1998 | Debris and open burning | 8.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 5 September 1998 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 September 1998 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 30 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 25 September 2002 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 24 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 22 September 1997 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
5 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 5 workings within 5 miles of Boyd Hill: 4 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ray Mcdowell Property | Iron | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Iron | Past Producer | ||
| Barr Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer |
Storms near this place
2 since 2009Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Boyd Hill in 2 storm reports between 2009 and 2023: 2 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Midway | 2.7 miles | 14 | |
| Piney Grove | 3.5 miles | 14 | |
| Old Town | 6.5 miles | 14 | |
| Baker | 6.8 miles | 14 | |
| Lewisville | 7.7 miles | 16 | |
| Stamps | 10.8 miles | 12 | |
| Kress City | 11.0 miles | 16 | |
| Shiloh | 11.8 miles | 12 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 76406. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.






