Bridgeport, Arkansas
8 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1957 and the latest in 1983. It stands in South Lebanon Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72466. It stands on Freeman Branch. The Survey maps it on the Poughkeepsie quadrangle. The federal gazetteer marks this settlement historical: it is no longer a populated place, though the surveys that recorded it still are.
Topographic sheets covering this place
5 surveys from 8 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1957 USGS Poplar Bluff quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1959 USGS Poplar Bluff quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Poplar Bluff quadrangle1:250000
- 1965 USGS Poughkeepsie quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1983 USGS Cherokee Village quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
99 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 99 fires within 5 miles of Bridgeport (historical) between 1997 and 2020, burning about 2,561 acres in total. None started naturally. 52 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 52 |
| Debris and open burning | 27 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 17 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 3 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 29 September 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 25 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 29 September 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 6.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 26 September 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 24 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 10 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 23 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 42 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 2 September 2007 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
10 of 13 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 13 workings within 5 miles of Bridgeport (historical): 7 unknowns, 4 past producers, 1 occurrence, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Iron, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Lead, Zinc. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Richardson | Zinc | Past Producer | ||
| Gibson-Finch | Lead | Past Producer | ||
| Mccaa Prospects | Lead | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Flat Pond Mine | Iron | Past Producer | ||
| Lawrence Stone Property | Iron | Occurrence | ||
| Unk | Iron | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Iron | Unknown |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reed (historical) | 2.9 miles | 8 | |
| Poughkeepsie | 2.9 miles | 8 | |
| Nelsonville | 3.1 miles | 8 | |
| Center | 4.2 miles | 9 | |
| Sitka | 5.5 miles | 8 | |
| Balboa (historical) | 6.1 miles | 8 | |
| Calamine | 7.4 miles | 8 | |
| Kings Mills (historical) | 7.7 miles | 9 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 77331. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.




