Butterfield, Arkansas
13 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1948 and the latest in 2000. It stands in Butterfield Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72104. The Survey maps it on the Malvern North quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
9 surveys from 13 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1948 USGS Malvern quadrangle1:62500, 3 printings
- 1949 USGS Malvern quadrangle1:62500
- 1955 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1956 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1978 USGS Malvern North quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1985 USGS Malvern quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
- 2000 USGS Malvern North quadrangle1:24000
Fires near this place
317 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 317 fires within 5 miles of Butterfield between 1997 and 2020, burning about 965 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 68 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 121 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 71 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 68 |
| Smoking | 19 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 17 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 9 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 6 |
| Natural | 4 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 1998 | Smoking | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 7 September 2014 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | HOT22180822 |
| 7 September 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 September 2015 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 September 2010 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 September 1998 | Smoking | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 5 September 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 6.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
10 of 47 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 47 workings within 5 miles of Butterfield: 16 producers, 15 past producers, 7 unknowns, 7 prospects. 17 still produce. What was taken out: Barium-Barite, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Titanium, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| (Facility) Jones Mills Smelter | Aluminum | Plant | ||
| Christy Brookite Deposit | Titanium, Metal | Occurrence | Brookite | |
| Christy Deposit. | Vanadium, Titanium, Niobium (Columbium) | Prospect | 1890, 1976 | |
| Christy Property | Molybdenum, Titanium, Metal, Niobium (Columbium), Vanadium | Producer | Molybdenite, Rutile | |
| Christy Property | Vanadium, Titanium, Metal | Prospect | 1943, 1984, 1985 | |
| Golden-Estes Property | Molybdenum | Past Producer | ||
| Kimsey Prospect | Niobium (Columbium), Molybdenum | Producer | Brookite, Molybdenite | |
| Magnet Cove | Iron, Vanadium | Past Producer | ||
| Magnet Cove Mica Deposit | Mica | Unknown | ||
| Magnet Cove Rutile Mine | Titanium, Metal, Niobium (Columbium) | Producer | Rutile |
Storms near this place
6 since 2009Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Butterfield in 6 storm reports between 2009 and 2016: 2 thunderstorm wind, 2 hail, 1 flood, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 2009 | Flood | Butterfield | $250,000 | Flash flooding, which developed on the evening of the 23rd, became widespread areal flooding on the morning on the 24th and continued into Christmas morning. Many county roads were flooded. Some residents living off U.S. Highway 67 had to park on the shoulder of the highway and wade to their houses. |
| December 2009 | Flash Flood | Butterfield | $250,000 | Heavy rain led to the development of flash flooding on the evening of the 23rd. Numerous county roads were flooded. One swift water rescue was necessary in Malvern. One lane of Arkansas Highway 7 was partially blocked at the intersection with Arkansas Highway 84. |
| June 2009 | Thunderstorm Wind | Butterfield | $30,000 | A farm had a barn with its roof completely off and another barn had its roof peeled back on Long Drive off of Sand Road. Trees were down on Williams Road. |
| August 2009 | Thunderstorm Wind | Butterfield | $2,000 | Trees were down at Military Road and Cooper Road. |
| March 2016 | Hail | Butterfield | - | Quarter sized hail was covering the ground. |
| May 2012 | Hail | Butterfield | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Magnet Cove | 2.5 miles | 13 | |
| Rockport | 2.8 miles | 13 | |
| Jones Mills | 4.0 miles | 12 | |
| Shorewood Hills | 4.4 miles | 12 | |
| Malvern | 4.5 miles | 12 | |
| Cove Creek (historical) | 4.5 miles | 12 | |
| Glen Rose | 4.9 miles | 10 | |
| Perla | 4.9 miles | 12 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 47243. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.








