BlockBefore

Calvin, Arkansas

10 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1935 and the latest in 1986. It stands in Marion Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72410. It stands on Marrow Bone Slough. The Survey maps it on the Alicia quadrangle.

Calvin within Lawrence County

Topographic sheets covering this place

5 surveys from 10 printed sheets

Matched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.

Fires near this place

10 since 1999

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 10 fires within 5 miles of Calvin between 1999 and 2018, burning about 122 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism3
Equipment and vehicle use2
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2
Smoking1
Debris and open burning1
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
2 September 1999Arson/incendiarism10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
9 August 2007Equipment and vehicle use4.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
9 July 2006Smoking10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
26 July 2006Missing data/not specified/undetermined8.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
22 July 2006Natural60 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
27 June 2006Arson/incendiarism5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
16 June 2006Equipment and vehicle use3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
5 March 2005Debris and open burning5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:

Every fire recorded in Lawrence County

Storms near this place

2 since 2019

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Calvin in 2 storm reports between 2019 and 2022: 1 thunderstorm wind, 1 heavy rain. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
September 2019Thunderstorm WindCalvin$10,000This is a correction - The emergency manager verified the damage was a small grain bin blown across the road into some trees near the intersection of Highway 367 and Calvin Crossing Road.
July 2022Heavy RainCalvin-A COOP Observer measured 6.20 inches of rain.

Every storm recorded in Lawrence County

Nearest settlements

The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.

Map PlaceDistance Sheets
Alicia2.9 miles10
Broom (historical)3.4 miles10
Minturn3.5 miles10
Hopewell3.7 miles10
Strangers Home3.8 miles10
Clover Bend4.0 miles10
Bessie (historical)4.7 miles11
Lindsey4.8 miles10

Provenance

This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 56949. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.

Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.