Carthage, Arkansas
8 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1955 and the latest in 1985. It stands in Chester Township. It lies in ZIP code area 71725. The Survey maps it on the Carthage quadrangle. 222 people lived here at the 2020 count.
On record in Carthage
Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.
On the National Register 4 records
Bank of Carthagelisted 1982
Mt. Zion Methodist Churchlisted 1983- Garrison Placelisted 1983
- Hampton Springs Cemetery (Black Section)listed 1983
Population over time
2 figuresCarthage fell from 343 to 222 between 2010 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.
| Year | People | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 343 | |
| 2020 | 222 | -121 (-35%) |
Topographic sheets covering this place
6 surveys from 8 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1955 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1956 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1965 USGS Carthage quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1985 USGS Malvern quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
84 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 84 fires within 5 miles of Carthage between 1997 and 2020, burning about 926 acres in total. 6 started naturally. 29 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 29 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 22 |
| Debris and open burning | 17 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 7 |
| Natural | 6 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 2 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 1998 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 8 September 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 6.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 5 September 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 8.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 September 2012 | Smoking | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 30 September 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 3 September 2010 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 29 September 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 28 September 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
10 of 18 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 18 workings within 5 miles of Carthage: 17 unknowns, 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay, Silica. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unk | Clay | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Silica | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown |
Storms near this place
23 since 1993Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Carthage in 23 storm reports between 1993 and 2018: 16 thunderstorm wind, 3 hail, 2 tornado, 2 flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 2011 | Flood | Carthage | $750,000 | no account filed |
| April 2011 | Flood | Carthage | $250,000 | Widespread areal flooding occurred. |
| April 2010 | Tornado (EF1) | Carthage | $40,000 | A mobile home was blown off its foundation and had part of its roof blown off, windows blown out, and limbs thrown through its roof. Power lines, power poles, and trees were blown down. |
| July 2011 | Thunderstorm Wind | Carthage | $10,000 | A tree fell across a road. Power outages occurred in Carthage. |
| October 2009 | Thunderstorm Wind | Carthage | $5,000 | Some trees were down. |
| October 1993 | Thunderstorm Wind | Carthage | $500 | Thunderstorm winds blew down a few trees. |
| August 2018 | Thunderstorm Wind | Carthage | - | Trees and power lines were blown down along Highway 229. |
| August 2005 | Thunderstorm Wind | Carthage | - | Thunderstorm winds blew down some trees and power lines. Six homes and a business in Carthage also sustained roof damage. |
| June 2004 | Thunderstorm Wind | Carthage | - | Several trees blown down. |
| May 2003 | Tornado (F1) | Carthage | - | A weak tornado touched down in northeast Dallas County near the Cooney community. The only damage noted were a number of trees that were twisted and blown down. The tornado moved eastward into Grant County. |
| May 2002 | Thunderstorm Wind | Carthage | - | Thunderstorm winds downed several large trees on Highway 229 at Carthage. |
| January 1998 | Thunderstorm Wind | Carthage | - | Thunderstorm winds blew down some trees. |
| August 1997 | Thunderstorm Wind | Carthage | - | Several trees were blown down. |
| May 2006 | Thunderstorm Wind | Carthage | - | no account filed |
| August 2001 | Hail | Carthage | - | no account filed |
| July 2000 | Thunderstorm Wind | Carthage | - | no account filed |
| May 1999 | Hail | Carthage | - | no account filed |
| May 1999 | Thunderstorm Wind | Carthage | - | no account filed |
| May 1996 | Thunderstorm Wind | Carthage | - | no account filed |
| May 1996 | Hail | Carthage | - | no account filed |
| November 1996 | Thunderstorm Wind | Carthage | - | no account filed |
| September 1996 | Thunderstorm Wind | Carthage | - | no account filed |
| December 1996 | Thunderstorm Wind | Carthage | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ivy | 3.9 miles | 9 | |
| Cooney | 4.1 miles | 9 | |
| Saline (historical) | 4.9 miles | 9 | |
| Tulip | 5.2 miles | 8 | |
| Bunn | 6.0 miles | 9 | |
| Welchs Shop (historical) | 6.7 miles | 8 | |
| Princeton | 7.4 miles | 16 | |
| Wave | 7.8 miles | 8 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Carthage | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q79271 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 57519. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.





