BlockBefore

Cave Springs, Arkansas

17 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1899 and the latest in 1979. It stands in Township 5. It lies in ZIP code area 72718. The Survey maps it on the Bentonville South quadrangle. 5,495 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 1,155 feet above sea level.

Cave Springs within Benton County

On record in Cave Springs

Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.

On the National Register 1 record

Population over time

2 figures

Cave Springs grew from 1,729 to 5,495 between 2010 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.

YearPeople Change
20101,729
20205,495+3,766 (+218%)

Topographic sheets covering this place

8 surveys from 17 printed sheets

Matched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.

Fires near this place

20 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 20 fires within 5 miles of Cave Springs between 1998 and 2019, burning about 1,137 acres in total. None started naturally. 7 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism7
Debris and open burning5
Missing data/not specified/undetermined4
Smoking2
Recreation and ceremony1
Equipment and vehicle use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 1999Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
3 September 2011Arson/incendiarism875 acresArkansas Forestry CommissionBUTLER CREEK
12 August 2012Equipment and vehicle use4.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
25 July 2012Smoking23 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
20 July 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined20 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
8 April 1998Smoking2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
2 April 2016Debris and open burning5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
17 April 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined7.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:

Every fire recorded in Benton County

Mines and quarries near this place

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Cave Springs: 1 unknown. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Stone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
UnkStoneUnknown

Every working recorded in Benton County

Storms near this place

3 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Cave Springs in 3 storm reports between 1995 and 1997: 2 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
February 1997Thunderstorm WindCave Springs$20,000no account filed
July 1996Thunderstorm WindCave Springs$100no account filed
June 1995HailCave Springs-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Benton County

Nearest settlements

The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.

Map PlaceDistance Sheets
Cannon (historical)0.8 miles17
Colville (historical)2.0 miles17
Osage Mills2.3 miles17
Healing Springs2.5 miles17
Spring Creek3.3 miles18
Castleville (historical)3.9 miles17
Hart (historical)3.9 miles17
Wager (historical)4.1 miles17

Elsewhere

Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.

Wikipedia article on Cave SpringsAn encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied.
Wikidata item Q79307The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0).

Provenance

This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 76553. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.

Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.