Cross Roads, Arkansas
11 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1951 and the latest in 1990. It stands in District 1. It lies in ZIP code area 71866. The Survey maps it on the Arkinda quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
5 surveys from 11 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1951 USGS Arkinda quadrangle1:24000, 4 printings
- 1953 USGS Texarkana quadrangle1:250000, 4 printings
- 1956 USGS Texarkana quadrangle1:250000
- 1986 USGS Idabel quadrangle1:100000
- 1990 USGS Idabel quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
72 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 72 fires within 5 miles of Cross Roads between 1997 and 2019, burning about 850 acres in total. 5 started naturally. 30 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 30 |
| Debris and open burning | 16 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 5 |
| Natural | 5 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 3 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2004 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 5 September 2013 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 30 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 September 2002 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 September 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 10 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 22 September 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 22 September 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 7.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
10 of 12 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 12 workings within 5 miles of Cross Roads: 12 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Limestone, General. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unk | Limestone, General | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Limestone, General | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer |
Storms near this place
1 since 1993Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Cross Roads in 1 storm report in 1993: 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 1993 | Hail | Cross Roads | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oak Grove | 1.6 miles | 11 | |
| Winthrop | 1.8 miles | 10 | |
| Jewell | 2.3 miles | 11 | |
| Morris Ferry (historical) | 3.7 miles | 11 | |
| Billingsleys Corner | 5.1 miles | 11 | |
| Lippton (historical) | 5.6 miles | 10 | |
| Arkinda | 5.7 miles | 11 | |
| Eastport | 5.9 miles | 11 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 71287. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.




