BlockBefore

Crossroads, Arkansas

22 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1890 and the latest in 1987. It stands in Township 2. It lies in ZIP code area 72944. It lies near Union Ridge. The Survey maps it on the Abbott quadrangle.

Crossroads within Sebastian County

Topographic sheets covering this place

11 surveys from 22 printed sheets

Matched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.

Fires near this place

92 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 92 fires within 5 miles of Crossroads between 1997 and 2020, burning about 709 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 8 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined39
Debris and open burning28
Equipment and vehicle use10
Arson/incendiarism8
Natural3
Smoking2
Recreation and ceremony1
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
6 September 2005Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 2003Arson/incendiarism5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
27 September 2002Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 2000Arson/incendiarism5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
18 September 2006Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
17 September 2000Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
17 September 2000Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
13 September 2004Missing data/not specified/undetermined4.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:

Every fire recorded in Sebastian County

Storms near this place

2 since 2023

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Crossroads in 2 storm reports in 2023: 2 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
May 2023Thunderstorm WindCrossroads-Strong thunderstorm wind blew down a tree onto a road.
May 2023Thunderstorm WindCrossroads-Strong thunderstorm wind snapped large tree limbs.

Every storm recorded in Sebastian County

Nearest settlements

The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.

Map PlaceDistance Sheets
Dayton1.5 miles22
Witcherville3.9 miles22
Huntington4.0 miles24
Milltown4.0 miles21
Mansfield4.6 miles24
Dill Place (historical)4.8 miles24
Fox Hill5.1 miles24
Burnville5.3 miles21

Provenance

This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 71293. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.

Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.