Crowley, Arkansas
15 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1940 and the latest in 1984. It stands in Dalton Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72450. The Survey maps it on the Paragould West quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
8 surveys from 15 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1940 USGS Gainesville quadrangle1:62500, 2 printings
- 1957 USGS Poplar Bluff quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1958 USGS Gainesville quadrangle1:62500, 2 printings
- 1959 USGS Poplar Bluff quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Gainesville quadrangle1:62500
- 1960 USGS Poplar Bluff quadrangle1:250000
- 1984 USGS Paragould quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
- 1984 USGS Paragould West quadrangle1:24000, 3 printings
Fires near this place
16 since 1999Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 16 fires within 5 miles of Crowley between 1999 and 2006, burning about 456 acres in total. None started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 7 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 4 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 September 1999 | Recreation and ceremony | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 September 1999 | Debris and open burning | 15 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 September 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 28 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 26 September 1999 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 19 September 2000 | Smoking | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 18 September 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 17 August 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 9 April 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 35 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
10 of 15 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 15 workings within 5 miles of Crowley: 12 unknowns, 3 producers. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cooper Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Dwyer Pit No 1 | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Paragould Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Commissary (historical) | 1.9 miles | 14 | |
| Stanford | 2.7 miles | 14 | |
| Fairview | 2.7 miles | 15 | |
| Camp Ground | 4.1 miles | 15 | |
| Center Hill | 4.4 miles | 15 | |
| Pine Knot | 4.5 miles | 15 | |
| Walcott | 4.6 miles | 14 | |
| Beech Grove | 5.5 miles | 14 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 75614. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.







