Dodd City, Arkansas
15 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1893 and the latest in 1985. It stands in Marion County Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72687. It lies near Angel Springs Hollow. The Survey maps it on the Pyatt quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
12 surveys from 15 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1893 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000, 2 printings
- 1903 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000
- 1905 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000, 3 printings
- 1929 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000
- 1945 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1949 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1954 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1958 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1972 USGS Pyatt quadrangle1:24000
- 1985 USGS Bull Shoals Lake quadrangle1:100000
- 1985 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
Fires near this place
134 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 134 fires within 5 miles of Dodd City between 1997 and 2020, burning about 3,411 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 67 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 67 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 31 |
| Debris and open burning | 29 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 4 |
| Natural | 2 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 September 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 23 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 90 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 13 August 2010 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 31 July 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 29 July 2014 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | MAR27491173 |
| 28 July 2012 | Natural | 9.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 19 July 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 23 June 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 35 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
10 of 64 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 64 workings within 5 miles of Dodd City: 30 occurrences, 23 unknowns, 11 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Zinc, Lead, Lead, Zinc, Stone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beaty Mine | Boron-Borates | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown Quarry | Stone | Unknown | ||
| Unknown Quarry | Stone | Unknown | ||
| Bear Hill Mine | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Big Elephant Mine | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Broome County | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Copperhead | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Governor Eagle | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Lead Drift | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Markle Mine | Lead, Zinc | Past Producer | 1891 |
Storms near this place
3 since 2011Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Dodd City in 3 storm reports between 2011 and 2026: 3 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2026 | Hail | Dodd City | - | Quarter-sized hail fell in the community of Dodd City. |
| May 2024 | Hail | Dodd City | - | Quarter-sized hail fell in the town of Dodd City. |
| April 2011 | Hail | Dodd City | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 76805. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.











