Driftwood, Arkansas
11 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1932 and the latest in 1986. It stands in Morgan Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72469. It stands on Morgan Creek. The Survey maps it on the Strawberry quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
7 surveys from 11 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1932 USGS Strawberry quadrangle1:62500
- 1935 USGS Strawberry quadrangle1:62500
- 1941 USGS Strawberry quadrangle1:62500
- 1953 USGS Memphis quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1955 USGS Strawberry quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1956 USGS Memphis quadrangle1:250000
- 1986 USGS Batesville quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
22 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 22 fires within 5 miles of Driftwood between 1997 and 2020, burning about 258 acres in total. None started naturally. 9 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 9 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7 |
| Debris and open burning | 5 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 25 September 1999 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 1 September 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 32 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 August 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 April 2004 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 19 April 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 10 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 1 April 2003 | Debris and open burning | 25 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 1 April 2003 | Equipment and vehicle use | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 9 March 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 22 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
6 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Driftwood: 3 unknowns, 3 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Iron, Zinc, Zinc, Lead, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fannie Richey Place | Clay | Unknown | ||
| Hoppe Mine | Zinc, Lead | Past Producer | ||
| Clifton E.Cook Property | Iron | Unknown | ||
| J.B.Butler | Zinc | Past Producer | ||
| Raney Mine | Zinc | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Iron | Unknown |
Storms near this place
1 since 2020Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Driftwood in 1 storm report in 2020: 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 2020 | Thunderstorm Wind | Driftwood | - | Some trees were down. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lynn | 2.5 miles | 9 | |
| Old Martin Mill Place | 3.6 miles | 10 | |
| Strawberry | 3.7 miles | 11 | |
| Saffell | 4.1 miles | 11 | |
| Eaton | 5.1 miles | 13 | |
| Jesup | 5.5 miles | 9 | |
| Strangers Home | 7.4 miles | 10 | |
| Broom (historical) | 7.8 miles | 10 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 48604. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.






