Head, Arkansas
19 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1891 and the latest in 1994. It stands in Hill Township. The Survey maps it on the Cabot quadrangle. The federal gazetteer marks this settlement historical: it is no longer a populated place, though the surveys that recorded it still are.
Topographic sheets covering this place
12 surveys from 19 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1891 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:125000
- 1893 USGS Camp Pike quadrangle1:125000
- 1893 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:125000, 4 printings
- 1941 USGS Cabot quadrangle1:31680, 2 printings
- 1954 USGS Cabot quadrangle1:24000, 3 printings
- 1955 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1956 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1985 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:100000
- 1987 USGS Cabot quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1994 USGS Cabot quadrangle1:24000
Fires near this place
10 since 2000Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 10 fires within 5 miles of Head (historical) between 2000 and 2017, burning about 126 acres in total. 1 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 5 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2 |
| Natural | 1 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20 June 2012 | Equipment and vehicle use | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 24 April 2007 | Debris and open burning | 15 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 11 March 2007 | Natural | 13 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 13 December 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 18 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 7 January 2011 | Debris and open burning | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 January 2014 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | PUL3249827 |
| 26 January 2014 | Debris and open burning | 4.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | PUL2823890 |
| 21 January 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 47 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Toneyville | 1.4 miles | 19 | |
| Jacksonville | 1.6 miles | 19 | |
| Gladewood Addition | 4.8 miles | 19 | |
| Westbrook Addition | 4.9 miles | 19 | |
| Macon | 5.1 miles | 19 | |
| Rolling Hills | 5.4 miles | 19 | |
| Indian Head Lake Estates | 5.5 miles | 21 | |
| Gravel Ridge | 5.6 miles | 21 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 67527. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.











