Hutchinson, Arkansas
18 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1890 and the latest in 1986. It stands in Relief Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72534. It stands on Hutchinson Mountain. The Survey maps it on the Jamestown quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
8 surveys from 18 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1890 USGS Batesville quadrangle1:125000
- 1891 USGS Batesville quadrangle1:125000, 6 printings
- 1942 USGS Jamestown quadrangle1:24000
- 1942 USGS Jamestown quadrangle1:31680, 2 printings
- 1953 USGS Memphis quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1956 USGS Memphis quadrangle1:250000
- 1965 USGS Jamestown quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1986 USGS Batesville quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
82 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 82 fires within 5 miles of Hutchinson between 1997 and 2020, burning about 1,496 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 36 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 36 |
| Debris and open burning | 22 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 15 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 4 |
| Natural | 2 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 September 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | 6.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 September 2002 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 5 September 2002 | Debris and open burning | 4.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 30 September 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 40 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 2 September 2002 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 19 September 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 18 September 2004 | Recreation and ceremony | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
7 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 7 workings within 5 miles of Hutchinson: 5 unknowns, 1 occurrence, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Manganese, Clay, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unk | Iron | Unknown | ||
| Crusher #2 | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Greenfield | Manganese | Unknown | ||
| Kelley Prospect | Manganese | Occurrence | ||
| Rocky Point Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Clay | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Clay | Unknown |
Storms near this place
2 since 2011Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Hutchinson in 2 storm reports in 2011: 2 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2011 | Hail | Hutchinson | - | no account filed |
| March 2011 | Hail | Hutchinson | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 50470. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.







