Ink, Arkansas
19 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1890 and the latest in 1989. It stands in Mountain Township. It lies in ZIP code area 71953. It stands on Irons Fork. The Survey maps it on the Board Camp quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
10 surveys from 19 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1890 USGS Poteau Mountain quadrangle1:125000, 2 printings
- 1899 USGS Poteau Mountain quadrangle1:125000, 6 printings
- 1950 USGS Mcalester quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1958 USGS Board Camp quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1958 USGS Mena quadrangle1:62500
- 1962 USGS Mc Alester quadrangle1:250000
- 1962 USGS McAlester quadrangle1:250000
- 1965 USGS Mc Alester quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1965 USGS McAlester quadrangle1:250000
- 1989 USGS Mena quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
22 since 1995Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 22 fires within 5 miles of Ink between 1995 and 2018, burning about 152 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 7 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 5 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4 |
| Natural | 4 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 September 2005 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 28 September 2015 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 August 2012 | Natural | 4.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 21 August 2006 | Natural | 42 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 15 August 2006 | Natural | 2.5 acres | Ouachita National Forest | RAWLS |
| 11 August 2010 | Natural | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 30 July 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 4.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 24 July 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
1 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Ink: 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer |
Storms near this place
22 since 1993Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Ink in 22 storm reports between 1993 and 2025: 11 hail, 5 thunderstorm wind, 5 flash flood, 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| October 2008 | Tornado (EF1) | Ink | $75,000 | Numerous trees were blown down, as were a few power lines. A couple of the falling trees landed on the edge of houses' roofs. Several old chicken houses being used as hay barns were damaged. An old barn and a few outbuildings were destroyed, the tin was taken off a couple of barn roofs, an old garage was blown off its foundation, and much of the tin roof was taken off another garage. Shingles were blown off a couple of houses. |
| January 2013 | Flash Flood | Ink | $50,000 | Some bridges were washed out around Ink. |
| July 2013 | Flash Flood | Ink | $10,000 | Water was over some roads in and around Mena, and also on some county roads. |
| April 2025 | Hail | Ink | - | Quarter-sized hail fell near the community of Ink, report via mPING. |
| March 2024 | Hail | Ink | - | A report via mPING of quarter-sized hail near Ink. |
| March 2020 | Flash Flood | Ink | - | Water was reported to cover Hwy. 88. |
| August 2020 | Flash Flood | Ink | - | Several county roads were flooded across eastern Polk County. |
| September 2020 | Flash Flood | Ink | - | The Polk County sheriff's office reported flash flooding on Hwy. 88 in the Ink community. |
| June 2002 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ink | - | Thunderstorm winds knocked down numerous large tree limbs and blew items off several porches of area homes. |
| June 2001 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ink | - | Thunderstorm winds downed some large tree limbs. |
| April 2012 | Hail | Ink | - | no account filed |
| April 2011 | Hail | Ink | - | no account filed |
| October 2009 | Hail | Ink | - | no account filed |
| April 2007 | Hail | Ink | - | no account filed |
| February 2001 | Hail | Ink | - | no account filed |
| June 2001 | Hail | Ink | - | no account filed |
| August 1999 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ink | - | no account filed |
| May 1998 | Hail | Ink | - | no account filed |
| June 1998 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ink | - | no account filed |
| June 1998 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ink | - | no account filed |
| March 1996 | Hail | Ink | - | no account filed |
| April 1993 | Hail | Ink | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pine Grove | 1.8 miles | 19 | |
| Corinth | 3.1 miles | 20 | |
| Yocana | 3.7 miles | 19 | |
| Board Camp | 3.7 miles | 19 | |
| Nunley | 3.7 miles | 20 | |
| Acorn | 5.6 miles | 19 | |
| Posey Hollow | 5.9 miles | 19 | |
| Mena | 6.1 miles | 20 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 72147. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.









